My Day Was Made When I Found Candy Corn in Panama - Thumbs Up Thursday by A Panama Mama

in #food7 years ago

My love for candy corn goes back many years. As far back as I can remember, candy corn has been a part of every Fall. This year, living in Panama, I figured I wouldn't be getting any of my very favorite candy. A few weeks ago we were walking through our local PriceSmart (think Costco in South America) and I spotted a bag of bright orange, yellow and white candy corn!! I was sooo excited until I saw the price tag! $10 a bag?? You see, I'm super frugal and I won't buy something unless I really need it and, at this moment, candy corn wasn't on my need list. So I left, candycornless.

IMG_5560.JPG

Yesterday, we were walking through the same PriceSmart and I was wondering if they had sold it all as it wasn't on the candy aisle. We got in line to check out and that's when I noticed the delightful display of CLEARANCE candy corn! It was calling my name!! We loaded up the cart with some 4 pound bags of the candy goodness for the bargain price of $2.77 each! Happy dance! I put back gummy bears and Ghirardelli chocolates for this stuff!
IMG_5545.JPG

As we were leaving, I was asking the cashier, cart guy and anyone else who would listen if they've ever had candy corn. None of them had! You see, that's what I love about PriceSmart. They bring in stuff that gringos like but price it high. Then the gringos don't buy enough of it, so they have to clearance it out. The Panamanians don't know what they're missing out on. Toasters Strudel is a great example. The directions were in English. I had a cashier ask me what to do with them when we were once buying six 4 packs (like we had breakfast for super cheap for months). Turkey bacon is another great example. Sadly, once it's clearanced, it never returns. So if Panamanians haven't had whatever the item is, they don't sell much of it and have to clearance it to make space for something else and I get to reap the benefits! Time to stock up!

So all this to say that I love candy corn and PriceSmart clearance. Yesterday they both made me (and my kids) very happy. We didn't think we were going to get any this year! Now we have enough to share. It freezes well too, if you didn't know.

Do you love candy corn?

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Thumbs Up Thursday will be brought to you here every Thursday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for deals and recommendations.
If you would like to share your thoughts, feel free to in the comments.
Thanks for visiting!

Sort:  

@apanamamama -- I love you, girl, but I can't stand candy corn. Were I able, I'd keep you supplied with the stuff from here to eternity. You could have every last kernel anyone ever gave me. Jeez, I'd buy more and pay you a bounty with that to take it off my hands. (I have to say though ... you'd have been a cheap date. Did @panamapilgrim know this, back when it would have done him some good?)

We haven't had a trick-or-treater at our very remote mountain home in decades. But when we still lived in a city, I used to joke about maybe handing out candy corn to teach kids to stay away from our house. Cheaper by far than resorting to something "healthy" to get the message across.

My mom actually hates the stuff too, but my dad loves it, so maybe I got it from him. If you gave away candy corn, I'd come to your house a hundred times in a row! :) The husband doesn't like the corn either... :( More for me! :) He doesn't like to buy it for me though...makes the kids want to eat it and he thinks they should have less sugar. Boo. ;) We bought 36 pounds of it the other day on clearance. Hee hee. But we plan to give a lot of it away at a celebration we're having next week. A good deal is a good deal. ;) Thanks for the comment. Made me laugh!

(Imagining 36 pounds of candy corn!! My Sweet Lord!!!) Don't get me wrong. I'm not without my sugar-based vices. I had a favorite candy shop in Estes Park, CO where I would special order 10 pounds of banana taffy at a clip to pick up as we drove through on our way to Grand Lake every 4th of July. (Little tiny town, one paved street three blocks long ... but the biggest fireworks display in the state.)

I'd tuck one piece in each cheek over and over and sail through life on a sugar-high all week-end long. Occasionally I'd sit down for a meal. I went through the same sort of thing with Werther's Originals for a while. I still go on binges with stuff -- and not always candy. So I know how comforting it is to have an "endless supply" of whatever you crave.

(BTW, The Weasel also pulls the trick of buying things he knows I either don't like or aren't apt to like ... based on the "more for me" strategy. Often that works for him. He'll eat practically anything ... and I won't.)

But I also buy you things I don't like/can't have. Ice cream, Mounds bars, Dr Pepper, the list goes on.

And you sneak bites from all of it. (Don't think you're getting away with a thing!) So this is hardly a "more for me" arrangement, is it? More like less for me and some for you. (You see now, how he came by that nickname, don't you?)

I have a taste of ice cream sometimes. I bought you a month's supply of Butterfingers on sale. I won't have one of them. I'll grant you I have the odd Mounds. More than I should, but way less than I would like. And way less than you.

I only finish them quickly, dear, to save you from yourself. Deny it all you like. We both know that's the truth.

BTW, he just this minute finished polishing off the last quarter of the cherry crisp I made the other day. (So I can get busy making him a peach one. Don't think I don't know how this game is played.)

Lol! Too funny. Yep, having an endless supply of candy corn at least until next year might be the goal. ;) Gotta slow down our intake though... No telling if we'll ever see candy corn in Panama again. Maybe by then, I'll be super sick of it and read to move on to the next candy up for grabs on clearance. :) Have a great day!

You put back Ghirardelli chocolates for this stuff! Are you insane?

Lol! They were on clearance also and I've seen them for weeks, so I'm sure they'll be there next time. Plus, I could get three bags of candy corn for one bag of chocolates (and they go way faster). ;)

#gratefulvibes :) This goes perfectly in that category.

candy corn mmm interesting

Way to get the deals!
I think a 4 pound bag of candy corn would last me the year. Do they have good dentists in Panama? Hehe :)

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I can see you are madly in love with candy corn hmm i dont enjoy it much @apanamamama

Is this like popcorn that you have to microwave? Or something totally different?

Candy! And, as my son says, it's "made with real honey!" It kind of has a slightly waxy consistency. It's super yummy but some people don't like it. Boo. I wonder if they sell it anywhere around you...

The look make sense..but I never taste any such beside corn is it similar to corn taste or ?

Just came around u..
U can follow me too
@davidad

It is a super sweet, kind of waxy candy. Not really like corn. It says it's made with real honey. Just sugary goodness. ;)

I haven't had candycorn in years! Part of its appeal was that you could only get it around Halloween and Thanksgiving. But 34 Pounds!?!? That is too funny! They used to have one with a chocolate stripe in it too. Now I might just have to go and find some!

My favorite are actually the candy corn pumpkins but I love just plain candy corn too. Yeah, we are having a little celebration thing (not Halloween related) here on Tuesday and plan to give out the candy corn as prizes (although not all 36 pounds of it). :) I also used it as a "Minute to Win It" game the other night. I figure we can glue it to paper, do science experiments with it and the like. :)

Oh yes, I forgot about the pumpkins! You will surely start a trend giving out candy corn. Sounds like fun times :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77