Graffiti in Munich #5 - Abandoned Construction Site - A Place With a Thousand Graffiti

in #graffiti5 years ago (edited)

I had this post already planned... and since Graffiti was the theme chosen by @customnature for the Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest - № 25, I've decided to make this... my entry.


After all, you can't find much more Abandoned Stuff than this. There are crates and boxes scattered everywhere, car pieces and even broken toilets.

IMG_4999.JPG

I've called this an Abandoned Construction Site because that's what it looked like, while I was there. I mean, just look at this... Would you say this was anything other than an abandoned place?

IMG_5017.JPG

It was only now, while putting up this post together, that I realised this is actually a cultural centre named Bahnwärter Thiel.

IMG_5036.JPG

"Bahnwärter Thiel" got its name from a story written by in 1988 by Gerhart Hauptmann. Accordingly to Google Books:

Bahnwärter Thiel follows the principles of the Naturalist movement in its detailed study of the life and milieu of a humble and apparently unexceptional Prussian railwayman. Yet in its exploitation of symbolism, of techniques sometimes close to Impressionism, and in its subtle use of a changing narrative perspective, this Novelle goes beyond the essentially 'scientific' Naturalist approach.


And speaking of books, there's plenty of sitting areas to read one, if you want. From the most basic and rudimentary sitting places...

IMG_5023.JPG

To real chairs and tables...

IMG_5020.JPG

Chairs and tables like these are found in several spots, from where you can appreciate all the art around you.

IMG_5030.JPG

If you follow those stairs at the left, you can get to a high ground, from where you have a nice perspective of the place.

IMG_5025.JPG

Returning to the lower ground, there are more seating areas, right next to the containers which are completely covered with amazing drawings.

IMG_5018.JPG

What? You thought I was the only crazy person walking around here? Think again.

IMG_5021.JPG

Here are a few close-ups. I love this Gremlin. So cute, isn't it?

IMG_5022.JPG

The Blue Dragon above it was rather spectacular, too.

IMG_5024.JPG

If you prefer to sit at a more unique and original place, you can relax at this crazy old cart.

IMG_5029.JPG

Here are a few more painted containers.

IMG_5005.JPG

Here, I have encountered another Street Artist in the middle of his work.

IMG_5032.JPG

Yes, he noticed I was taking photos... but he couldn't care less. He went back to get another can of spray.

IMG_5031.JPG

And returned to finish his work.

IMG_5016.JPG

At this place, everything was painted. Starting with the fences surrounding the area.

IMG_5009.JPG

Here's a close-up from the above work.

IMG_5012.JPG

Some more painted fences...

IMG_5013.JPG

Including this one with a Mickey Mouse drawing which I liked a lot.

IMG_5014.JPG

And this painted face, which is very expressive and colourful.

IMG_5015.JPG

The crates by the fences were totally covered in paint, too.

IMG_5000.JPG

And every little forgotten construction piece also served as a canvas.

IMG_5002.JPG

This canvas is round? Who cares? Let's paint it, too.

IMG_5004.JPG

Oh, and here's some kind of boxed compartment. How should it be used for?
You've guessed it: as a canvas.

IMG_5027.JPG

Here's an abandoned mini-trailer... obviously transformed into art.

IMG_5035.JPG

To conclude this already long post, I'll leave you with a few more artistic works, found at the walls in and outside this place.

IMG_5028.JPG

IMG_5019.JPG

IMG_5034.JPG

Here's a close-up of the above work.

IMG_5033.JPG

IMG_5037.JPG

IMG_5044.JPG

IMG_5045.JPG

IMG_5048.JPG

Finally, there was a bike parking area. Naturally covered with art.

IMG_5038.JPG

I have a few more Graffiti photos taken at this place... but this post is getting way too long, so I'll leave those for the next part.


I hope you've enjoyed these photos. Please stay tuned for the continuation of the series. Meanwhile, you can take the opportunity to visit the previous parts:


CameraCanon IXUS 210
LocationMunich - Germany
Edited with GIMP

2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Another awesome place I knew nothing about. How can a person complete one's 'To Visit' list when people keep showing more and more...

Well, forgive my attempt at complaining about universal injustice and have my gratitude for showing this! Who knows, maybe someday I will read a page or two there. Because there's also art to see, containers to climb...

You're welcome. I feel the same. Too much to see, so little time to do it. 😊

Thanks for your comment

What an inspirational place! I think the metro chart is screaming for a little cafeteria.

I wouldn't be surprised if people set up their own coffee shops over there. 😊

Do I understand correctly that you took this photos in Munich? I'm trying to convince my husband to go there like forever. It's just about 2.5 hours drive from where we live and we haven't been there yet. I've heard that it's such a beautiful city and now when I see that there is this graffiti paradise I can't not go there! :D Oh, I love it! So many different graffiti, murals, colors, shapes, motives,.. amazing! And your photos are great. I also like the short descriptions.

And it's so good to see that you got a nice visit from Curie :) You absolutely deserve it!

Have a lovely day!

Thanks. I am glad you enjoyed it.

Yes, all the posts in this series are from Munich. And I am using SteemitWorldMap to mark the exact spots. Just add them to your GPS and you'll find them easily. 😉

It is amazing how just empty abandoned places calling people to do something with this blank spaces. There are some really good Artists who can work with graffiti and the Artworks of them are huge sizes and sometimes so complex. I love to visit such areas and I know in our area some buildings even asked such Artists to make an artwork on their white wall so that it is not spoiled by hooligans. Once it is done and signed by those guys nobody even try to do anything and destroy such Artwork. That is a kind of rule of the free street Artists :)

Yes, you're right. In a way, there's more honour and respect among Street Artists than among some academic circles. 😉

Thanks for your visit, Steffi!

There are good graffiti artists in Munich, the place looks a lot like a cultural park in Venezuela called Tiuna el fuerte, which incidentally has a very good graffiti artist called Badsura, has been several times in Greece, Italy and England making pieces.

I like very much your photographs are very descriptive of the things that can be done in the place like reading, reciting poems, or simply admiring the art pieces from the containers <3... secillamente magico y con un aspecto algo punk <3 no reglas pero dentro de ellas.

do graffiti festivals? without a doubt a place that I would like to visit.

thank you for sharing

greetings

Can I have my house covered with some of this graffiti?? They are so so colorful... Well, my house covered with them? Maybe I wouldn't see much of them...🤔. I wouldn't mind living just across the street though... It is so colorful and fun!

I especially love the Micky mouse, the one on the mini-trailer, the one that the artists is still painting and Gremlin... And more, actually...😊

At first, it really sis looks like an abandoned place, little did I know that it is a hidden gem. Is it that hidden?

The main entrance was closed, as you can see on the third photo. I went in through a hole in a wall. 😂

Ahh.... I thought it was closed so could take the picture and it got opened after that...😀 silly me😂😂

Going through that hole must have been some sort of an adventure..

Holy cow! this is completely overwhelming. "Naturalist" is not the word that comes to mind though. I am a person who loves to come across graffiti, and I would have a hard time blinking in this place.

I loved it. At first I was scared of going in... But I'm glad I did. 🙃

Yes, definitely worth the look!

Yay, you got curie's upvote! Congratulations! Looking at the photos alone, I certainly agree that this is a great article.

How can a very artistic and beautiful place like this be abandoned? And that paint artist, he looks like having all the time in the world to keep painting an abandoned place. I hope there is a plan for this place to be utilized better than just being abandoned.

It's not really abandoned, it just looks like it. According to the Internet, it's a cultural center nowadays - like I said on the article. But since nothing was going on at that day, I assumed it was nothing more than an abandoned site.

I was there around noon and it looks like 99% of the events happen around dinner time:

http://www.bahnwaerterthiel.de

Oh yes, you mentioned about it being a cultural center but I thought it was literally an abandoned cultural center. Thanks for clarifying that.

You have many graffiti posts lately. They are beautiful.😊

So many amazing photos! I love graffiti work, it's one of the more unique and interesting forms of art. Is it vandalism? Is it art? Is it both? These are things we talked about in my English 1101 course back in college.

Here are a few close-ups. I love this Gremlin. So cute, isn't it?

I got a chuckle out of this, because that's definitely Yoda from Star Wars :D

Thanks for sharing!

~ Mako

Ahahah. Now I see it. I honestly thought it was a character from the Gremlins.

I can understand why!

~ Mako

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86