Graffiti in Munich #12 - Donnersberger Bridge - Water & WindsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #graffiti5 years ago (edited)

This article belongs to my series Graffiti in Munich and is the conclusion to my last couple of publications, with the themes Fire and Earth.

This part is called Water & Wind since the tone of the following works is mostly blue with a few white in the mix, too. The artworks showcased here are also located at the Street Gallery Donnersbergerbrücke (Donnersberger Bridge).

I am starting off with a photo which wasn't taken by me, since I wanted to show you the whole mural that serves as a tribute to the photographer Tanja Mai.

eqmnq7hz0u.png
Photo Source: ABC Crew

I haven't found much about her and to find her identity, I had to look at the artists' webpage: ABC Crew. This is where I came across a blog with the following message:

To our beloved best friend, photographer and super flygirl Tanja. Mural by ABC Crew (Won, Shamez, Cpt73).

Quote Source: It's Great

Seeing that, because of all the parked cars, I had no angle to take a similar shot, I felt that the above photo was important and should be included in this post. (From here until the end of the article, all of the photos are my own.)

Here are three close up shots of the mural above, taken at night, seeing that during the day there were always parked cars ruining the shots.

The left part of the Graffiti tells me a story of a woman who enjoyed music, photography and perhaps surf. There is also a reference to peace and love. You can see the signature of the crew on the waves, in the left bottom corner.

btsbq58swv.jpg

The middle part of the mural is her name: Tanja Mai

e2s03dsmox.jpg

And to the right, there's a big painting of her face. She must have been a very beautiful lady. It's very sad that she died so young, at the age of 37.

97qhtx1n9d.jpg


The following piece is a different kind of tribute, to a band called Mgła and in particular, to their album entitled With Hearts Toward None. Mgła is a Polish Black Metal band and it was formed in 2000, in Kraków.

Here's my attempt of grabbing the whole piece in a single frame.

j2304wf0bz.jpg

Next, we have three close up shots, once more taken at night. (Damn you, parked cars.)

m7u5dt1qo7.jpg

ezorpzy7u1.jpg

The sentence is part of the 3rd track of the above mentioned album...

From the midst of cold ash comes the voice of the living god
Further down to the roots of withered pillars
Through the scorched ground
And you shall know perdition
And it will set you free.

c53ln72108.jpg


Right next to it, there's another funny looking mural of a smoking skull, spray painting the text "Masters of the Universe." I wonder if they meant the Masters of the Universe, with He-Man and She-Ra?

xa2p5x4q43.jpg

Yes, yes, I took a few shots at night, too... I hope you enjoy them, too.

afaqpb4ni8.jpg

Here's a closeup of the drawing.

b36n4vfmlx.jpg


On another wall, I've found a huge Graffiti, with the words Beast, Kort and Riko, which are the artistic names of the authors: Beast, Kort One and Riko

8maj8qbh1n.jpg

In these shots, you can barely see the most beautiful and creative parts of this mural.

yqavpmx4l9.jpg

... and that's why I took a few close-up shots ...

2gz0npt636.jpg

This was my favourite part of this huge Graffiti. It looks like a scene from a horror movie, with all the people fleeing from a Godzilla.

5h6c2bdejo.jpg

And finally, on the right side of the piece, there was this cityscape, where people were living in peace, still oblivious about the giant gorilla that was heading their way.

cqas2zjw32.jpg

You can also see the signature from the Crew, on the right bottom of the image: Bunt Lack Team


Another interesting piece I found was this train painted on another large wall. Since this Street Gallery is located right next to a train station, this drawing makes perfect sense here. (On the other side of this wall there are the train tracks.)

38yl0s137y.jpg

And of course there were parked cars ruining the views, so here's a shot of the only part which was car free.

ai77cpkafi.jpg


Here's another cool design, with some animals incorporated into it.

szg4oij1jo.jpg


The final piece was my favourite but unfortunately the car drivers ruined it - by parking right in front of it.

4d0x1gnvei.jpg

This is such a grand piece. I returned to this spot at night, to try and capture it better. As you can see, the artist was clearly inspired by the Super Mario games for the Nintendo.

9bbs9vf4ex.jpg

This Graffiti has incredible and funny details everywhere, just like these monsters and mushrooms.

g0uf6k6416.jpg

The right side of the wall was absoultely crazy, with a wide variety of figures and monsters all packed together.

9k9sausv53.jpg

Here's another nightly shot, without the car and the bike on the way.

5gdjl6f4tm.jpg


I hope you've enjoyed these photos. Please come back for the continuation of the series. Meanwhile, you can take the opportunity to visit the previous parts, which I started publishing in 2018:


CameraCanon IXUS 210
LocationMunich - Germany
Edited with GIMP

2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

You have the coolest collection of graffiti photos...

It's so sad that Tanja died early, I can only imagine all the cool stuff she would have created if she were still here... That graffiti really did go with you theme.. I love the color and the design...

That of beast, Kort and Riko, the close-up view totally "wowed" me. It's incr3dible all the details that were revealed in those shots... It has just so much to show at different angles!

Those car owners better give way... I guess they haven't realiz3d how much of a beauty those graffitis are... Lol!

I love love love the last one too. It's really fun. I love the super Mario touch it has to it. And all the fun, beautiful and crazy add ons.... This has to be my favorite!!

I love all of them... You really did take great photos of them....

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your great and light hearted comment, @audreybits!

I was never a big fan of graffiti until I discovered that not all of it contains male genitalia and anime in awkward poses. My wife and I were in Baltimore recently and stumbled across some really cool stuff. Not quite as impressive as what your detailing here, but awesome non the less.

I am loving the throwback to Mario Brothers. Brought back some good memories of countless hours lost playing this game as a child. I am definitely going to have to check out the rest of your series on graffiti.

On another note, I see that you are using a Canon IXUS 210. I had one of those (bluish silver) and the zoom got stuck open and that was it. I may have tried to force it back in the seated position .. shhhhhhhh .. and helped along it's demise. X___X Great camera for about 7 years. oh well.

Have a great day @trincowski!

Thanks, I always loved Graffiti but there's a big difference between works like these and the random crappy tagging we see almost everywhere.

Yes, that's the camera I had at the moment. Meanwhile, I got a Panasonic Lumix DC-TZ90, which is a huge improvement over the tiny Canon. Now I can take shots I could never dream about... 😉

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

What a lovely art of a beautiful lady. Too bad she died already? D:
But it's good that people think of her fondly and made such a wonderful tribute to her.

These graffiti artists in Munich have some serious skills.

Yes, and so young... what a tragedy.

They're not all from Munich. The one with the Gorilla, for example, it's from a Crew based in Berlin.

Thanks for stopping by, miss @scrawly!

Munich seems to have real cool art scene! Too bad with parked cars in front. Some places I have been the paintings are often done on a wall in a car park...sometimes I go back on a sunday. The ones you are showing here are large too. Really impressive and hard to choose a favorite... but I like the train.

"Too bad with parked cars in front."

They really annoyed me... but it's an official parking lot, after all. What could I do? 😂

yeah...know how you feel! you can't exactly move them either... :)

The first one I think is Kinda steemitbluegreenish 😉

I can see why you say that. Thanks for your visit!

I am SO impressed with the quality of graffiti in Europe and UK. I find it more involved than that I see here in the US, but maybe I'm not looking in the right places here. In EU UK I'm more of a tourist so probably looking more maybe? Anyway, some amazing things @trincowski

Really? I would have guessed otherwise. The USA are usually on the front row of cultural trends like this. I saw some incredible stuff when I was in San Francisco.

The gorilla is really well done.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your visit, @vcclothing! 😉

Muito bons graffits, graffiti é mesmo uma arte que muitos nao compreendem e pensam que é só para rebeldes

Tem evoluído bastante, desde que é menos criminalizado. Agora os artistas têm mais tempo para trabalhar, o que leva a melhores e maiores peças!

I really really love your collection and series of graffiti.. I remember , I have captures some of my personal picture with street art.

From the midst of cold ash comes from the voice of living god...

Love this words...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36