Mining with Laptop??Why not..Take a look

in #gpu7 years ago (edited)

Hi miners,in this articles i will show how my old laptop can generate few bucks with Nicehash miner.Well this is particularly made for those having a not-so latest GPU hardware in their laptop.For me this laptop had served me more than 2 years since i bought it 2014 and under utilized now.I'm using a LUNO as a basecoin.YOu may refer to https://www.luno.com/

So a weeks ago i've read an articles how to mine using GPU using a software call NiceHash. This are the software you need and of course your GPU.
nicehash.JPG

My laptop model is ROG G551JM-053h which i guess still in good condition and i decide to try it out and it works. Even thou it wont generate much more than you think but it still give you a good side.As far you guys know,laptop cooling is limited to its own space,in my case,i would run a fan under the laptop and a standing fan in front. This generate heat up to 68C max which i guess is still acceptable for 2 years laptop.

However,there are few things to measure in mining using laptop.First one obviously a heat generated due to its small compartment.Second is electric bill which is depends on watts usage on your laptop.This may brought the ROI is being dragged over to longer period unless you're in college which the bill are totally free!!! Hehee.. For example you've made a 1 USD,the bill may up to 50% from your profit.

Third is your GPU life span.Unlike me,this laptop is under utilized for about 4 months in my drawer until i read an articles on how to mining using underutilized laptop. As you guys know,when mining has been started,GPU will start to work and the load will go up to 98% which also increase the heat. From this your GPU lifespan may reduce up to 50%. I WONT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE OCCUR ON YOUR PLATFORM.

I've made more than 9USD which took me 9 days and laptop still maintains its heat at max 68C.
my miner hash.jpg

Lastly guys,do always observed the heat on your laptop.OO yah i've using a software called TechPowerUP GPU-Z for monitoring my temperature.Do some home work research before starting. Have a safe walk :)

My Bitcoin Address - 13wEQdiUj6sGCjux96eSpGjBsFWxZHS8pB

Sort:  

Good info thanks for sharing. I got a new gaming laptop with GPU that I use primarily for video editing. I'm afraid to use it for mining because of the potential heat issues and the fact I use it for work and cant afford to have it die on me. If I had a under utilized box I would do it. Thanks again for sharing.

You're welcome.Just continue on rendering video and once your laptop had enough serve you than you might wanna start.Never to late to start mining :)

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

take a look: https://steemit.com/@hicmaster

Hi thanks for following.Follow you back :)

welcome to steem bro ... followed this post from FB group. Follow me as well & cheers

Thanks bro..I did ask my lil sis to find steem in MY. followed you back.. Cheers

Congratulations @lat91! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70