Strain gauges in governance. Going Hannity!?

in #governance6 years ago

I was recently introduced to the concept of "strain gauges" in governance: When an action is both potentially objectionable and requires more than one agent to carry out, agents carrying out the action may have various ways to register their discontent with what's happening, ways that are more than mere verbal disagreement and less than outright refusal.

Checks and balances are a subset of strain gauges, which also exist in absolute monarchy, and even to a very limited extent in totalitarianism.

This seems to me like a good example of a strain gauge in action: deferral of an order while experts study it.


In other news..

Hannity, Trump's Baghdad Bob in the media, shares a completely corrupt and incompetent lawyer with him? And he continues to cover Trump as Cohen becomes the subject of federal investigation?

Just when I think the bar for acceptability at FOX could not go lower, they go UNDER it.

This sort of thing is why English has the word "flabbergasted" and Yiddish has the word "chutzpah."



Sort:  

Will you follow me? 😊 @a-0-0

I'm Canadian and I am completely blown away by the politics and media down there. I want to say it shocks me, but it takes a lot to do that nowadays.

My favourites are the Fox News mashups where they show them contradicting themselves over and over. Hannity is the star of those.

You will find David Zublick on youtube if you have any questions about the authenticity of the tape.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99