Me And My Monkey - Pic Of The Day 🐋

in #goprohero66 years ago (edited)

a5498518-5a9d-4c75-a6af-2072cb62380c.jpeg


Kristin Neff said once:

Unlike self-criticism, which asks if you're good enough, self compassion asks what's good for you.

I frequently find myself being extremely self-critical during my surf sessions.

Then often when I come back home and start to study my GoPro shots, I find out that - against all my expectations - my position on the surfboard, posture and movements have considerably improved.

That's the moment when I realize that I unnecessarily complicated my life in the water and should've rather fully enjoyed the experience.

It's good to be ambitious and goal-oriented, but what would life be without the fun ultimately?!

Maybe I would've catched some more of these bombs if I hadn't been that keyed up.
That's been my today's learning.. once more.

Enjoy your weekend, steemians! 💙
Much love,
Marly -

📸 Shot taken with my #goprohero6


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

One of these days, you got to take me to the ocean haha... Never surfed in my life! :)

You'd love it, Charles! When and where? :-)

Hi @surfermarly the great adventurer girl here on steemit. Wonderful pic you shared here while surfing. Well said about your self life experiences

unnecessarily complicated my life in the water and should've rather fully enjoyed the experience.

Thanks for the compliment @rabeel! These type of *backhand rides' are very rare, so I'm quite proud right now, hehe :-) Tomorrow's gonna be another great day, a nice North-Western swell will be coming in, so I think I'll be able to shoot some more nice ones and then do an update video.

Enjoy your weekend!!!

It looks highly technical, sounds like you need to tame that Monkey, feed it bananas or keep it caged while you go the beach!

Hahaha, I actually stole that me and my monkey from Robbie Williams. I remember that when his album came out, thousands of people where wondering what or who that monkey actually was.. In the end they translated it as: passion, addiction, something you can't live without...

So that's surfing to me: a monkey 🐵 haha

PS: I'm incredibly proud of that backhand (having the wave in my back, surfing towards the right being a lefthander = goofy). I haven't surfed many of them so far, and this one really killed it! So yes, it's actually quite technical...

Really interesting that I read it slightly differently but I think might have the same outcome. I know you are quoting a great philosopher and psychologist there (!) .....but I read the Monkey as the problem. There is a phrase " Get the Monkey off your Back" - it refers to trying to eliminate the problem or burden on your mind. So on first read. I read the Monkey as you being "self-critical" during the surf. I hope you can save (or eliminate) the self-criticism until, at least, you are analysing the go pro footage and you enjoy the moment of riding the waves.

Sounds like you are making great progress with the new technical move.

I was slightly referring to a great book, I recommend it to all humans and some chimps (that sentence makes sense if you ever pick it up) - it's called The Chimp Paradox - by Professor Steve Peters here.......have a great day and speak soon....

Always good to look into a mirror and ask yourself, at that particular point in time, if you like what you see.......

I couldn't agree more! But then: don't look too often... Mirrors can't display feelings after all... so you might look terrible but feel like a king/queen, haha!

Enjoy your weekend, @stillwater!
Great so see you over here :-)

I don't surf - never been good at 2 feet on one board sports. Love that shot though. I posted my first video to Dtube today - it's up your alley, I took the footage at a big surf competition in Sayulita Mexico. If you have a min...take a look!

Well I've never been good on surfing either, haha! I started quite late... But every little progress counts.

Thanks for driving my attention towards your video, I enjoyed it very much!
Great ambient, nice surfer vibes - had to share it with my followers right away :-)

Enjoy your weekend @jfolkmann and thanks for stopping by

Did.
Thanks for stopping by :-)

It must be pic of the year.

Very nice shot @surfermarly.
Great adventure😊

You're very welcome😊

Often times, we need to do a self evaluation of ourselves. And a life without fun or relaxation is definitely on a pause. Well done my surfy woman @surfermarly

Good form there @surfermarly
I am looking forward for you to surf under a very big wave and taking a photo with a gopro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 54933.05
ETH 2284.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31