Why I'm quitting Steemit

in #goodbye7 years ago (edited)

This isn't about earning less than before.

It is much more deeper than that.

This article from @playfulfoodie shares a lot of sentiments that I feel, although I am a dolphin (I think). If you don't want to read the full article here is some bits copied of importance.

Earnings aren't everything, but can you try to understand how frustrating it is to see your regular payouts drop from $15.00 (and the occassional $30.00) to $2.00 or $3.00 (and the occassional $10.00), while newbies earn hundreds? I don't think I have ever, in my entire Steemit life, went into the hundreds.

Do you really feel people deserve that much, simply for being new? I do not believe those posts are worth so much and if you start to think about the long term implications and stop thinking short term, you are just setting them up for disappointment. Because one day, these newbies won't be new and they will be the ones writing these kind of posts.

Only they will not be sad about losing $15.00 payouts. They will be sad about losing $100.00 payouts.

And to add an additional point. My reason for writing this...

Do you like that post? Or do you like the way it was sold to you? Would you rather read a book valued at $100 or one valued at $2? Perceived value affects what we are likely to consume. My posts used to receive more $, but more importantly they used to receive more views and real interactions. As an OG OC content creator who has written over a million words, there is no point for me to share my work on a platform where no one is going to view it. People want to get the most from their curation, so they vote for the high earning content creators which is often from the same people; a positive feedback loop. Do you like the post? Or do you like how it was sold to you?

Over the summer I have been travelling and recruiting peeps to Steemit, and they have made more than I ever have from their posts. I don't know how it is going to affect their psychology to receive $100+ for producing great content + lots of views, + interactions, and then on their next post of great content, nothing... and no views. Demotivating...

Without the large price tag attached there is often little views. Do you like the post? Or do you like the way it was sold to you?

Of course I could buy votes to increase my visibility...

But I don't want to buy votes to get views. It would be similar to paying for Facebook advertising, which made me stop using Facebook to promote anything.

I've tried increasing my post count to make up from any lost readership I may have incurred after having a month of not so much activity due to travelling, but despite this I am mostly getting auto-votes (thanks!), and few views.

Anyway I might as well be posting whatever with little thought or effort as it doesn't matter that much.

And I'm not really quitting Steemit...

I know that saying you are going to quit is a great way to get attention on this platform. I'm going to create a new account (business account) to get them new people votes and get more views!

This account just feels dead to me.

To be fair I write obscure content and don't focus on producing any particular type of content for consumption. I would brand myself but I like to do everything... and also with the massive influx of people perhaps us lesser accounts have been buried by the bodies.


This is from one of the theatre productions I produced last year. I am the one with the beard and red gloves, although someone else introduces themselves as me. I sometimes work in the underground arts scene which is about producing great content rather than brand recognition. I'll be uploading the rest of this soon (youtube won't let me upload whole thing as one)

I'm an individual, a person, someone who wants to use social media for social change and interaction. I'll be getting back to media production within the next few months and will produce video content which I will post on Steemit.

Maybe I'm just not that great of a writer... and maybe I just wanted you to view the above video (my work).

Who knows what it all means. Maybe I have added to an important discussion, or maybe this post will float down the river on it's $2.48.


@RiskDebonair
Irish Writer, Poet, & Lover

Sort:  

Recently I have been a bit bothered by the same ideas, but with the hardfork changes, price differences and wanting both our large and small minnows to stay, I decided to let it all play out.

Like you, I am not a great writer, nor do I focus on content. As a part of that I don't expect to have an amazing income stream from my blog.

I randomly type my thoughts and add pictures. :)

Anyway, I wanted you to know I read your post, and have mixed feeling about the message, I can relate...

Enjoy that new account and the minnow benefits! Your posts have been a part of my SteemIt experience.

I wish the community would focus more on engagement than quality, but that is just me. Take care.

Like you, I am not a great writer,

Hurts... I wish someone told me that years ago before I got into writing :D

I'm sure it will play out into an amicable outcome. I just wanted to add to the discussion to aid in coaslescing of ideas. I won't be using my business minnow account much until I get the business ball moving.

I don't agree with everything I wrote. It was somewhat of a vent based around the title.

I was present when one of my minnow friends received a fat reward, getting his first Steemit/Crypto high (I remember mine fondly :D ); it was when he got that high that I knew Steemit had hooked another minnow. I think focusing on newbies is good, and that the sheer number of people joining and now using the platform is probably the cause for less views in conjunction with human psychology and how we value things based on price tags.

I find it difficult to put my finger on the identity of this evolving platform. Like with engagement over quality; that pushes it towards social media, but with quality over engagement it becomes more like a media site without the social aspect.

Thanks for commenting! I hope you are having a wonderful summer and or winter ^_^

lol, I wasn't saying you aren't a great writer, I was repeating what you said. I meant I hadn't "branded" my blog. :)

I understood the rant, I also understand we don't yet have community tools, etc. I am hoping my Grandma was right and it will all come out in the wash.

Take care.

I can't say for sure what's going on! I write both fiction and nonfiction. The fiction takes hours... for example, one chapter of a story I'm doing took 5-6 hours to think up and write out on paper (that's how I think). It took another 2 hrs to transcribe and edit on the comp. I made $21.50. I did another post that took 10 minutes (3 paragraphs) and it made $57.00... go figure. Another thing what's up with "followers" I have over 1000- when it comes to upvoting, I'm lucky to have 50!

I think the point of following someone is that their content will appear in your home-feed, which means you get to personalize the stream there. That doesnt mean that everyone following you will happen to be looking at their feed when you publish and click on your article. 50 upvotes out of 1,000 followers is a 20% response rate, which is actually Unicorn high.

Sorry, I don't want to be a math police, but my fingers are tingeling :D

50 out of 1,000 is 5%
20% out of 1000 would be 200 upvotes

Hopefully I'm not wrong now, that would be pretty embarrassing, when playing police :D

Thanks for the upvote riskdebonair :) , I just posted a post complaining about what's frustrating about Steemit, funny thing is that I got more earnings from this silly comment than my last two posts. It just proved my points a bit more, I'm not complaining. Thanks again riskdebonair ^^

ahahahahahaha.... touche. I divided 1,000 by 50, and didn't go any further than that... Though, I do still think 5% is quite a high response rate...

:P

What's the new account you got?

@browniepatrol
I'm in the process of registering it. I'm going to use it as a business account for uploading video and other content for upcoming projects related to Brownie Patrol; a Liverpool based undergound theatre/media production team.

Never mind my previous comment. I found it. :)

I don't think I've even made a Dollar on a Post. I don't do it for the Money though. It's the Community that I want to Benefit from. Being able to See other Peoples lives and Communicating with them is what keeps me going. I feel your pain though .. there is a Definite Loop that Benefits the Few. I'm hoping that I can build my own Following of Devoted Friends but it is Possible that they Will fall away from Steemit as time goes by and They become Frustrated with the Cycle. I just hope that in Time that Steemit Changes and Becomes more Rewarding to the True Value and Content Bloggers that put in Time and Effort. Who knows, it may never Happen. Sorry to see you go.

I'm not going anywhere thanks. It was all a ruse to get views.

I have followed you. Great posts!

I am not ARUSED! lol. Glad to hear, You definitely got my attention. I haven't even Introduced myself to the Community.. I'm too shy I guess. Thanks for the Follow.

I understand you, Risk. The mentality has changed and votes are to be bought, not earned. I try to make a conversation even though I know the bugger just anticipates my generous upvotes.

All I want from you is your bitshares :D

You can have them! But they come at a price. Let's say a dollar each?

💰😎🤡💯👍🏻

That $99 profit per bitshare by next summer! :D

I personally enjoy watching the new page and reading things with interesting titles and enticing thumbnails, that I am one of the first people to vote or comment on. High earnings isn't a predictor for my attention...

It affects me. Not all the time, but I am more likely to click on something if it has higher value.
Another example is when buying tech, I'll shop around and look for the best thing, and sometimes I find something perfect, but it is cheaper than the others so I consider buying the more expensive one just in case, because the price on what I want is a lot lower; so therefore less quality?

Yeah, that is a super strong component of human psychology to consider, I hear it discussed often in regards to price setting, marketing, and making sales.....

Introduceyourself is what motivates people to come. You're right it is a little bit of a letdown after you make good money on that post and then <$1 on your next ten, but that's what has made it so fun for me. I enjoy seeing what works and what doesn't. Paying for votes is like advertising. If you don't have the time to get out and promote yourself then it's the next best solution. Buck up kid, put your big boy pants on, and lets get out there and be encouraging, try to figure out why we're doing worse, and start experimenting with how to improve it.

Thanks! I've got my big boy pants on now ^_^

Lol was hoping you caught the sarcasm. Hope you feel better now, and I have to admit I have to let some "steem" off every once in a while as well. I'll be here all night thank you thank you!


This post got a 13.33 % upvote thanks to @elliotjgardner - Hail Eris !

Hi, Welcome to Steemit.
I can Follow You.
You can follow me.Thnx
https://steemit.com/@muhmmadjamshed/transfers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30