How Fortunate We Are

in #good-karma6 years ago

I live a privileged life and still I complain so much. Am I spoiled? Am I unreasonable? I have a nice place to live, a loving girlfriend, great friends, a wonderful son, A working PC, Steemit... What's there to complain about?


pink_wine.jpg
source: PxHere

Well, first there's not enough time to fully enjoy all I'm blessed with. And second I don't have time to spend on a post this evening... So, I'm gonna cheat, and use some of Sam Harris' wisdom here:

It's hard not to see the absurdity of the situation: you unwrap your shiny new iPad, upon which you hope to squander an unconscionable amount of time and attention, only to discover, and perhaps on the iPad itself, that the people who built this gorgeous device live lives of such unendurable drudgery, that they regularly hurl themselves of the rooftops, at the factory where they work. Nets have been installed to catch their falling bodies. Is there any sense to be made of disparities of luck of this kind?

Religion makes sense of it. You know, "it's my karma; it's god’s will, that I'm so lucky. If god had wanted me to do dangerous and deadly boring work for a few dollars a day, that's what I would be doing. But, as it happens, he wants me to have a new iPad. Hallelujah!"

To not believe in god is to not have a recourse to those illusions. To not believe in god is to know that falls to us to make the wold a better place.

We have barely emerged from centuries of barbarism. It's not a surprise that there are shocking inequities in this world. It is hard work to climb down out of the trees, walk upright and build a viable global civilization, when you start with technology that's made of rocks, and sticks and fur. This is a project and progress is difficult.
source: Sam Harris, Death and the Present Moment – transcript


cross.jpg
source: Pixabay

Yes Sam, Progress is difficult. But is it really the believe in God, or gods or spirituality or believe in the purple spaghetti-monster that hampers progression? Is God the source of the inequity in opportunities in life we both lament so often. Is Karma to blame? And do you really think you and your gang of anti-theists, however smart and eloquent you may be, are going to convince the world of not believing or abandoning religion? Will your fellow scientists be able to fill all gaps for God to occupy? Since science only deals with probabilities I'll say: probably not.

Belief or faith are not the real problem here Sam. And I'll tell you why with your own words. Take the wonderful intro to your speech about Death and the Present Moment I so cheatingly stole from you to share with my steemian friends here, and replace every instance of God, belief, karma or religion with Capitalism, free markets and market forces. And add some cheating to the mix; there's your answer. I rest my case. It's not God, nor the belief in God, nor "human nature" that made them poor and me the owner of a nice iPad. And you're smart enough to know. Watch how the suicide-inducing business model is explained away:


Foxconn: An Exclusive Inside Look

And did you perhaps forget about the France Télécom suicides:

More than 20 staff at France Telecom have killed themselves in the last 18 months, with some leaving notes blaming work conditions. At first, the company's management appeared unconcerned. But now the French government is stepping in to find out what is really going wrong.

They ended their lives with sleeping pills, hanged themselves or jumped out of the office windows.
source: Spiegel Online

Sorry Sam, you're smart, but also barking up the wrong tree. But since I'm looking for something to complain about, I'm lucky to have found you ;-) So Thank you Sam, for granting this lucky Steemian some stuff to complain about. Even if I do like you and agree with most you say. Now I'll spend some quality time in bed, with my gorgeous girlfriend, after I said goodnight to my wonderful son who has a bedroom all of his own in our beautiful house. Goodnight.

Oh, before I go, thanks so much fellow steemians to visit my blog and reading my ramblings :-) If I'm still lucky, I'll be back here tomorrow and hope will join me. Until then, stay fortunate and grateful, and keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>We're Being Gamed! Literally.
CICADA And The Elimination Of GovernmentWhy There's 24 Hours In A Day
Trickle Down GeneticsDon't Blame, But Reclaim Government
Great News & Random RamblingsSteemit Is A Party!

wave-13 divider odrau steem
Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem
Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO
wave-13 divider odrau steem
@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!

Sort:  

Complaining is programmed in the human mind. It doesn't matter how good we do have it, we always will be looking up and see how other people above us are doing.
If somebody asks me how I am doing, I most of the times respond with: not bad, no reason to complain but I will do it anyhow!

Thanks for commenting @fullcoverbetting :-)

If somebody asks me how I am doing, I most of the times respond with: not bad, no reason to complain but I will do it anyhow!

Don't we all! And we all know it of each other too. Funny thing, isn't it? Must be part of our programming then indeed :-)

It's easy to complain. Rather than complaining, I always try to come up with a solution to fix my complaints. I'm always asking myself, "How can I make the world better?". Great write up here .

Thanks so much for this uplifting comment @gray00 :-) A problem is just an opportunity to better the world... that's a beautiful way of looking at it :-)

I usually try to be positive and enjoy every minute I can. Works for me! But I feel what you are saying, and I am not religious!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really appreciate this response @forykw, thank you! :-)

Having to read many stories from all walks of live made me feel more positive and always try to find a silver lining in each problems. But to be fair, complaining is inevitable and it's happening in day to day basis. No matter how positive we are, there are days when we just want to complain even about trivial matters.

You have a wonderful way of approaching problems with hope, @macchiata; thanks for the response! :-)

Because there's always a slight hope in every situation :-))

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.752 which ranks you at #12703 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 18 places in the last three days (old rank 12721).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 424 contributions, your post is ranked at #172.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82