Oh Gods Of Golf Why Dost Thou Mock Me!?!

in #golf5 years ago

weather london.PNG

It's raining again, I'm used to it I live in England, but today of all days why does it have to rain?

I had a game of golf earmarked for today, was going to play with my good friend who was recently diagnosed with osteoarthritis which threatened to end his golfing forever.

Every time my friend played he got really severe pains in his hands, in fact the last time we were on the course he had to stop after playing six holes as the pain was too much to bear.

This depressed me for two reasons, the first being that I felt his pain as a lover of golf. I can't imagine how I'd feel if I had some kind of debilitating injury that meant I could never play the glorious game ever again.

Secondly I felt bad because out of all the people I play golf with, he is the most mellow and therefore the most enjoyable to play with.

Of course he gets upset at times, just like every other golfer in the world. However he gets over it quickly and never hurries me up.

Most of my other friends have got it into their heads that I'm a slow player. Don't get me wrong, I'm not quick and probably am one of the slowest out of them, however I'm not a slow player.

I've timed other people's shots in order to compare to my own and mine come in 20-30 seconds longer for a couple of friends, and around the same or a bit quicker for others.

Plus of course I have certain friends who are very quick, yet they hit the ball into the rough, and as I've said on many an occasion, surely it's better to take an extra 30 seconds and hit the ball where it can be found immediately; than to whack it into the trees and spend 3 minutes looking for the damn thing!

Recovery

Anyway my friend who has been diagnosed with osteoarthritis went to Sweden recently with his family. Whilst there him and his wife (yes she plays too) visited a golf club.

He said that he had an entire pain free round! He said he's dialled it back a bit and now only does a three quarter swing. So the ball doesn't go as far (he is a really big hitter), however it goes straight and that really pleases him.

I'm so happy for him, golf should be a game you can play as long as you can stand and walk. He is only in his early 40s, so could have a good few golf-playing decades ahead of him.

Weather Spoilsport

Anyway, I've looked at the weather tomorrow and it looks like it's going to be great, however I'm pretty sure that neither of us will be able to make it then.

Darn it weather!!

Oh well, at least my friend can play at all, after thinking that I wasn't going to get to play a round with him ever again, I guess I can wait a few days/a week or so before we get to smack some golf balls around and shoot the breeze.

DO YOU GOLF? HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN PLAYING? WHAT'S YOUR HANDICAP IF YOU HAVE ONE? OR PERHAPS YOU HAVE BEEN THINKING OF TAKING UP THE SPORT?

AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Cryptogee

Sort:  

I played golf from the late nineties until a few years ago. I was never really that good but I loved the game. My clubs have been collecting dust in a storage unit the past few years. I keep saying I'm going to sell them but something keeps me from doing it. Hopefully you'll get a break in the rain so you can hit the links!

I was never really that good but I loved the game.

That basically sums me up. Plus I'm a stubborn so-and-so, which means that whilst I saw my friends improve by compensating their bad habits. I wanted to improve because I was playing it properly.

Since discovering the youtube golf coach Danny Maude my game has leapt up to another level and my enjoyment factor has gone through the roof!

Keep those clubs, you never know :-)

I ended up going down to the local pitch and putt and practising in the rain :-D

Cg

Congratulations @cryptogee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I have never played golf but I have observed as an usher in a big golf event in my country.

I like how quiet the field is when a player is about to make a shot. It is not an easy sport. One’s level of concentration should be 💯.

The weather here is also wet. We push through regardless

Posted using Partiko iOS

It really is a game of great ettiquete, I also like that about it.

I've just spoken to my friend, we are going to push on through the rain as well! :-)

Cg

I have not played golf for a few years as it frustrated the hell out of me/I was crap at it haha! I preferred hiking instead.

Good to see a fellow Brit on the platform, think we're few and far between! I am from the South East region, where abouts are you?

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha! I was the same, but recently I've discovered a guy called Danny Maude on Youtube. I can't believe how watching a few of his vids has transformed my game!! :-)

I'm from North West/West London, are you just outside/inside/suburbs?

Cg

Yea it's pretty cool how you can learn a lot through YouTube isn't it! I watch music production videos and learnt a lot from them AND I don't need to pick up a set of golf clubs haha 😁

I'm from High Wycombe which is about 25 miles west up the M40. You Uxbridge/Ickenham?

Posted using Partiko Android

:-)

No I'm a bit further in Kensal Rise/Ladbroke Grove however I play at the West London Golf Centre in Ruislip just up the A40 past Perrivale.

We should link up one day :-)

Cg

Ha, you're not far away at all! Meetup sounds like a good idea. I have seen a few UK steemians around the south East as well but I don't know if steem meetups are happening still. Pennsif and steemclubuk maybe?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah @redrica organised a couple, though circumstance met that I missed them. I'll check out if she does any more. I think I've heard of @pennsif but not @steemclubuk.

Cg

Yea same here, pretty much every steem meet I've been away for one reason or another! I'll follow redrica and see when/if there's another one planned. There is a discord server but it does seem like it's been dead for a long time unfortunately.

Posted using Partiko Android

@cryptogee,

Hey Crypt.

Tell your friend to try DMSO. I too am starting to feel my joints. When I do, a bit of DMSO eliminates the pain in no time.

I am not your typical alternative medicine advocate. Indeed, Katie and I have spent years researching DMSO in conjunction with her research on Alzheimer's. I know a LOT about the substance and could probably write a textbook on the underlying science.

It works and the adverse side-effects are limited to tasting garlic (I actually think it's more like burnt onions) after applying it. This is caused by a harmless sulfur-related metabolite.

A word of caution: Besides being a potent vasodialator and anti-inflammatory agent, DMSO is also an incredibly effective "penetration enhancer" (hence our use when administering an Alzheimer's related protocol). That is, it is capable of penetrating the skin ... and taking with it molecules of a certain size and polarity. This includes many dyes typically found in clothes.

So apply at night while watching TV and let air dry (uncovered by colored fabric). Before going to bed, wash clean with plain water and towel dry. Incidentally, I would recommend using 70% DMSO as the higher purities can cause some people to develop a rash (it makes my skin itch slightly). If you can only buy 99.99% DMSO, dilute it with distilled water (you can buy DW at any grocery store).
.

.
Note: As with everything else, there's a lot of baloney on the Internet about DMSO and related MSM. As per usual, consider the source.

Quill

Wow, thanks Quill! I shall pass on this to him, he really wants to beat it using alternative stuff to whit I have been sceptical.

As long as I don't tell him the advice came from a man of science, I think he'll go for it!! :-D

EDIT: I just realised I wrote osteoarthritis when I meant rheumatoid arthritis.

Cg

A long time no see my wise British friend. My golfing skills stop at a nice swing at the driving range but damn that is always loads of fun. A bummer for your friend that the weather is such a showstopper at the moment for you guys to excersize your hobby..but indeed thats England :( (switzerland is full on sunny today thank god)

are his problems less with warmer weather as well?

Long time indeed :-)

I love the driving range! Most of my golf buddies don't appreciate a good range session, so I don't get down as often as I'd like.

The weather was a showstopper just because it was so heavy rain, even though I ended up going to my local pitch & putt and practising in the rain.

My friend has Rheumatoid arthritis which is different to Osteoarthritis which can be set off by cold weather. With RA the actual bones degenerate and weaken, especially at the joints.

@quillfire just gave me a great tip so I'll pass that on and hopefully it will help.

So jealous about the Swiss weather!! Think it will be better here today though :-)))

Cg

I learned golf in high school physical education, and got a junior set of clubs to use on the local short course. I never really became much of a player. Once, we had a fitness day at work and they put together teams for a game of golf where all team players hit and then used the best ball. My drive was used once, and I was so proud. A few years ago, I lived in a home where the tenth hole of the community course was just behind my house. My nephew used to play, and hop over the fence for a snack whenever he came by, but I never played the course. Two months ago he bought the house from us, and it was the happiest day of his life :-)

I learned golf in high school physical education

Man! I'm so jealous, I wish they taught golf at my school, I'd be great by now!!

Once, we had a fitness day at work and they put together teams for a game of golf where all team players hit and then used the best ball. My drive was used once, and I was so proud.

I feel your pride :-)

A few years ago, I lived in a home where the tenth hole of the community course was just behind my house.

Again, really jealous!!

My nephew used to play, and hop over the fence for a snack whenever he came by, but I never played the course.

Yeah I bet he was like, "Unc, if you're going to waste this great location, I am not! See you after a few holes!!"

Two months ago he bought the house from us, and it was the happiest day of his life :-)

I feel his happiness :-)

Thanks for your comments man, I enjoyed reading :-)))

Cg

The pleasure was all mine! I enjoyed reminiscing :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46