Whereintheworldisgoldmoney Entry 2.25

in #goldmoneywashere7 years ago (edited)

Special thanks to @goldmatters for hosting one of the coolest contest I've seen in steemit.

I love seeing all the different entries.
I know from experience this contest takes a bit of commitment finding a cool location near you and making time in your schedule to go there.

I have really enjoyed watching this contest unfold. If you haven't seen any of the post for the #goldmoneywashere contest feel free to click on the tag and see all the different entries. #whereintheworldisgoldmoney

In my first entry I ended the post with a just for fun celebrity entry. My celebrity was a Mr. Potato statue located at Hasbro Inc in Pawtucket, Ri.
In 2000 Mr. Potato head was named "The official family-travel-embassador". There were supposedly 47 or so of them around the state. I went looking for them, hoping to write a story on them. That's when I came to realize most of them were retired.

As a thank you to @goldmatters for the inspiration his contest had given me. I did some wondering around the state so I could ever as many Mr. Potato Hears as I could into the contest.

  1. Mr. Potato Head's "Uncle Sam"

20170803_201751.jpg

I see him daily, during the summer. He resides at the Senior Center in Bristol. He's a favorite during the Bristol 4th of July Parade. He's also the one that gave me the idea to find them. :)

  1. "Mr. Potato Head"himself the original was waiting for me at the Hasbro Inc Location in Pawtucket, Ri.

20170731_200849-1.jpg

I met him earlier this week. He put the finishing touches on my original #goldmoneywashere entry: https://steemit.com/goldmoneywashere/@dreamingirwin/where-in-the-world-is-goldmoney-contest-entry-ri-style

  1. Mr. Potato Head's Italian cousin "Vino Di Vini".

IMG-20170803-WA0010.jpeg

Is a permanent part of the Clements MARKETPLACE In Portsmouth, Ri. I could only meet up with him after work, so he graciously waited for me outside his store even though it had gotten dark. Luckily he had company.

4 ) Mr. Potato's other cousin "Meet and Potato's" was there also.

IMG-20170803-WA0004.jpeg

Which I really appreciated, because I was hoping to meet up with Mr. Potato's younger brother "Sunbaked" at the Westerly Airport and it was getting late. I arrived at the airport an hour later and not only was the airport smaller then I expected. It was closed.

I could see Sunbaked standing on the outside platform inside airport grounds. Yet I couldn't get a picture with him because he was locked in. I read that their sister's home way from home was in Warwick so I rushed over there.

  1. Red Hot Potato was standing outside of Day-O-Lite Florescent Fixture in Warwick, RI

IMG-20170803-WA0018.jpeg

By this time no one was in building and the lights were off. I was surprised I found her in such short notice. Yet my time was up.

Luckily, earlier this week I ran into "Regular Joe at the Dunkin Donuts in Warren, RI. Yet it never occurred to me tell him about the contest.

20170723_175622.jpg

Though I did tell him about the Follow up Mr. Potato Head reunion post I was working on.

The relationship to Mr. Potato Head mentioned in this post is just for fun. Yet I found this redit post very useful in my mission.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.reddit.com/r/RhodeIsland/comments/39zurt/where_did_all_the_mr_mrs_potato_head_statues_go/

Thanks for sharing with me. I know this post is a little silly.
Hope you enjoyed it.
God bless :)

IMG-20170731-WA0007.jpeg

Sort:  

Thank you. I appreciate it. :)

Haha - I like the Dunkin Donuts one the best!

The owner of his Dunkin Donuts is the same owner of all the Dunkin Donuts in Bristol and Warren. If I ever meet him I will ask him to move Regular Joe to one of the better locations for that location is my least favorite lol.

lol this is great! You are a natural at this.... on fire!!!!

Well I was hesitant in doing a third one lol. Yet this was the remaining piece. Originally all three were going to be one post. I'm relatively new at writing. There's also a sleep that I've been ignoring for the last two days. I'm looking forward to your contest wrap up post. I'd love to see what you learned from the whole thing as the initiator.

Im glad you posted all three! Very very impressed. This was the first challenge ive ever done and i learned A LOT. Im excited to write the wrap up post I just hope i can do it in a timely manner. I didn't realize how much time this challenge was going to take, but this is a positive because it means it has been successful. I will do everything in my power to get the wrap up post up within a day or two of the payout :)

I love how the contest started off slow, like a bolder slowly moving to the edge. Plus you were able to get your Tah mahal pic. I thought that rocked.

Me too, that one is so awesome

No sabía que MR. Potato tuviera una familia tan numerosa... Me gusta, buen aporte

Antes habia 47 de ellos pero poco ha poco se han ido retirando. Encontre uno que no le pude sacar foto y conosco dos locasiones que me falta visitar.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @dreamingirwin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49