Blog: Day in below freezing temperatures

in #goldenhourphotography7 years ago (edited)

Hey Blog! This is the evidence behind the reason of my frostbite.

IMG_7590.JPG

Today I was lucky enough to go to my favorite mountain and indeed drive there myself, this was the first time - don't worry I did not go alone.

Let me tell you, the mountain was blowing ice cold snow everywhere. Any square inch that was covered by at least 376 layers of clothing was destined to freeze. Picture this: once you get out of the car, the friendly breeze is slicing your body from every which way. You race to put your jacket on, but the zipper is stuck. Your hands are shaking too hard to get a sturdy grip on it. The struggle feels endless and even once you are tucked into your supposedly warm jacket, you feel like you just fell into a frozen lake.

So my hands are turning white and getting that sandpaper-like texture due to the horrible wind and now I am faced with buckling not one, but three metallic buckles on each foot. Now remember, my hands are shaking and I already cannot feel my face. I keep reminding myself that this will all be worth it once I am on the lift going up to the top of the mountain.

It is a miracle, and I really mean a miracle that I ever stepped foot on the snow. Already freezing, we made our way to the lift and to welcome us was a seat which first pushed us in the backs of our knees so we would sit and then had us land on ice-covered seats. The cold was piercing through my pants and up my butt quickly lost feeling.

It gets better, on our way up, the snow machines were hard at work blowing snow EVERYWHERE! If you had even a sliver of skin showing, it was destined to fall off. The snow hit us hard, there was no escape from these snowmaking monsters, they were spitting snow at us from every direction. This snow was not fluffy and soft, it felt like cold hard ice bullets, it really hurt. Nonetheless, it had to be worth it, we had to get up to the top eventually.

And so we did, and with my hands already frozen, I had the genious idea of capturing the golden hour that I had had the pleasure of seeing. This was my first time all season coming to the resort while it was still daylight, and it was probably the worst decision by far.

Going down the slope, EVERYTHING WAS WHITE. There were no shadows to warn you of bumps, ice, there was nothing. It was blank. When you rode down, you felt like laundry being tossed around in the dryer, having to control of where you go or how you land/fall. It was genuinely​ really scary.

Nonetheless, although the inhuman conditions, this photo will forever hold a special​ place in my heart because to me it says YOU DID IT! I was able to overcome many obstacles to get here. From going up the mountain to taking this panorama the​ winds that were cutting my bare skin, to the time it took of sitting in a steaming hot bath for over an hour to fully get all the feeling back in my body. I consider this photo an accomplishment​.

If you enjoyed this post, please let me know in the comments below and upvote :) @v3r
If you decide to follow me on my many crazy adventures please let me know also because I would love to get to know you too!

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #goldenhourphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Monday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 06:15:05
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 31.60/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @v3r to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54