Full moon is getting closer


DSC05485.JPG

I just love the moon. Really love it. Full moon, sickles, half moon - I could just stand there and watch it for hours.

Just about half an hour ago, I took this photo of an almost full moon (full moon is in two days) during dawn. Although I used only a compact digital camera, the colors are pretty close to what they really looked like - and I am still amazed that you can zoom in with such a camera and even see single craters.

When I was a kid, I had a telescope, and I loved looking through it - with moon filter - and see the surface of the moon in such detail. Okay, it was way more detailed than it is in this photo, but still - it used to be the only way for me to have a close look at the moon. I tried to have a look at the sun, too, by the way (of course also with filters), but because the sun filters were basically black glass, I never managed to really "find" the sun through the telescope. In my defense, it was pretty difficult to get a good view at the sun at all from my room.

Anyway, I'm pretty sure I'll keep loving the moon as long as I live. Maybe I'll try to get other cameras for "moon photography" and especially macro photography, though I'll absolutely remain a hobby photographer.

Sort:  

i want to see you spot one of those illusive "moon bases" I see so often blurred out on google Moon.

Good point! I'll keep an eye on that as soon as I have the appropriate equipment!

Would be something I, and many others, would love to see.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 20:55:57
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 76.90/100.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81