Working Our Way Slowly East - First Stop Gila Bend, Arizona

Gila Bend Arizona

Saguaro_1.jpg
[Click here to enlarge photo]

We left California yesterday and are heading back to the east coast. Our first planned stop was to be at Holt's Shell RV Park. Their website said that they didn't take reservations but not to worry there would be a spot for us! Ha! Our friends Bob and Betty arrived there first. They paid for there site only to find out when they got to it, it was already occupied. What! They did get their refund and decided to dry camp outside of the campground. By the time we arrived, they had already set up and were enjoying cold beers outside their rig.

For those of you who don't know about dry camping or boondocking, it's basically parking your rig anywhere that will let you and spending the night or nights there. The good part is that it's usually for free. The bad part is that you have to provide your own utilities... water, electric and sewer. We're okay for a few days with our onboard tanks and generator. However, people who are seriously into living off the grid have elaborate solar systems and high capacity deep cycle batteries.

CiCiBlue.jpg
This is us in our choice parking spot. We call our rig CiciBlue, just in case you were wondering.

Besides having the campground here, this place is also a truck stop. So it's a huge parking area for big rig trucks. So staying here you live with the continual sound of air brakes and that distinctive smell of diesel exhaust that so reminds me of the Port Authority Bus Terminal in New York City. There is a Subway Restaurant here, but it is the one and only restaurant here... no wonder Gerard got so skinny!

Sunsets in the desert are awesome and I didn't want to miss a "Golden" opportunity. So armed with my trusty Canon I captured what I could.

GoldenTruck.jpg
Sunset reflecting off a big rig in the parking area.

TallerSkinnierMe.jpg
This is the tall and skinny me! LOL! You know you need to get these shots at sunrise and sunset when you're in the desert. It's mandatory!

Okay help me out here! I did some research about Saguaro Cacti on the Internet. It said that Saguaro Cacti are only found in the Sonoran Desert in Southern Arizona. I know that you can't believe everything that you read on the Internet, but I would like to believe something! So for what it's worth, I know I have seen and photographed Saguaro Cacti in California. Just saying! Anyway, they are awesome and cool to get up close and personal with. They are a hundred years old before they start growing arms.

Saguaro.jpg
The sun was behind me in this shot. I thought the light was cool!

Saguaro_1.jpg
The sun is just behind the cactus here. The base of the plant just glows!

Saguaro_2.jpg
The sunset is a wonderful backlight

Saguaro_3.jpg
One more with the sunset back-lighting

This is my entry in #goldenhourphotography by @juliank and @photocontests daily photography contest.

Thanks to @majes.tytyty for the Enlarge Image function tutorial.

All photos and text in my posts are my original work.
@originalworks

Please visit my galleries on the following sites:
Society6
Fine Art America

Enjoy!

Roger

Sort:  

Excellent post! support with your up vote in my last post. Thank you

1cc620a784896273cdf4e023c2da4b09.gif

https://steemit.com/news/@jesusj1/ikhimcr4

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 04:35:53
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1255.99/1600.00
Total Photos: 98
Total comments: 78
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow, great photos!!

Thank you for you comments!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Thank you so much!

Great shots, as always, Roger! We never did any boondocking when we had our camper - about two weeks after we started camping, the black water tank on our new-to-us-but-old-camper fell off.

CiciBlue looks gorgeous, by the way.

Hugs to you and Sheila as you make your way back East. Still working on the weather for you. 😊

Thank you Traci! BTW did you notice the star in the bottom photo? Actual I think it's Venus. It might be a little faint in the photo to pick out, but it's there!

Is it on the right hand side, just about where the orange turns greyish blue? If so, I think I see it - wicked cool!

That's it! It is so cool when something like that just shows up totally unexpected! I thought of you when I saw it!

Yep, it's wicked cool when that happens. And awww, thanks!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rwedegis
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=working-our-way-slowly-east-first-stop-gila-bend-arizona


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77