Cold Drive To An Icy WaterFall (Adventure Story/Photography)

in #goldenhourphotography6 years ago (edited)

On a cold February day Brenna and I decided we wanted to see a waterfall. Tamanawas Falls was our destination. I stopped by Treefort Lifstyles shop and picked up some gear to get some shots for them. They are a small company out of Welches Oregon run by a guy named Jeff. I grabbed a hat and ear flaps for the trip.

The drive over the pass was very cold at about 25 degrees plus wind. It rose to about 39 at the trail head for the falls.

DSC_5806.jpg

At the falls the spray from the impact of the water was chilling.
Because of the cliffs on either side of the falls creating a dome shape it gets a lot of wind.
The ice at the bottom of the falls was a few feet deep at some spots.

DSC_5837.jpg

The hike in and out was only 3.6 miles. And it was nice and cool hiking alongside the river for most of the way.
This is one of the largest waterfalls I have been to and the second largest in that part of Oregon. There are not many in the dryer part of the state. Another great sight is White River Falls. I saw that for the first time last summer.

DSC_5857.jpg

I got some good shots for Treefort Lifstyles, that being part of my goal for the trip I was glad it worked out.
This was my second time ever seeing this falls, and I hope I will have that privilege again in the future.
It's a beautiful place

DSC_5994.jpg

Follow me here: https://steemit.com/@mthoodjournal

see my 500PX here: https://500px.com/christopher_skipper

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 23:19:56
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 31.40/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for sharing these amazing pictures! Was the hike to Tamanawas Falls difficult?

Thanks friend! The hike was moderate in difficulty. Some up hill parts work on your lungs a bit but it was fairly easy. The ice on the trail made some parts a little interesting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32