Burning Curtain in Evening Sky, Phuket, Thailand – GoldenHour Photography

in #goldenhourphotography6 years ago (edited)

This shot was taken on Ao Sane Beach, on the far southwest corner of Phuket.

[Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

Blazing fire 

Unlike those wonderful sunsets that splash color across entire swathes of the sky, this golden hour was mostly hidden behind the clouds. But in one single spot just above the horizon, it was as if someone had torn a gaping hole in the sky. Or as if the blazing sun had burned a hole in the curtain of clouds. 

Bliss in the tropics 

This particular sunset may not have been the most magnificent one I’ve seen. But relaxing on that palm-lined beach, next to a thatched-roof cabana, and sipping cool beers, we experienced another blissful golden hour in the tropics. Location – Ao Sane Beach, Phuket, on Google Maps This is my entry in @juliank’s GoldenHour Photography contest.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.00 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.20
Server time: 05:10:10
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 605.91/800.00
Total Photos: 74
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Don't feel flattered @majes.tytyty. There is a general saying that a picture is worth one thousand words. This is true to an extent; yet these five words, BURNING CURTAINS IN EVENING SKY, are worth one thousand pictures. I bet Shakespeare or even Dan Brown would have found no finer words to describe this golden hour, hour of a burning curtain in a helpless blue sky.

Ps:
You are such a genius. I would love to read a full length essay or a book written by you.

Fear not. I do not feel flattered. As the saying goes, "Genius is 10% inspiration, 90% perspiration." So any effective words that appear on my post are the result of plenty of work.

On each of these photo posts, I spend an hour or more composing the text (that's the "90% perspiration), and I'm pleased that the fruits of my work are read and appreciated. In fact, I changed this heading several times before finally coming up with the one you read above.

First, I had unsatisfactory phrases like "A Hole Torn in The Sky," "A Tear in a Burning Sky," "A Fiery Hole Torn in Clouds," "Blazing Fire Burns through Evening Clouds," .... and other worse options.

I had wanted to keep the word "torn", but eventually I had to drop it. In the end, I came up with this Heading above. I think it's not quite perfect, but, after all the perspiration, it was the one that I thought was most alluring -- and maybe most inspired.


I don't have any books available, but here are a few of my longer posts on this platform. (For best results, read them during office hours. ☺ )

People of India ... https://steemit.com/photography/@majes.tytyty/the-colorful-people-of-india-individuals-images-and-reality

Children of India ... https://steemit.com/photography/@majes.tytyty/the-colorful-people-of-india-the-children-photodiary-8

Mourning in America ... https://steemit.com/money/@majes.tytyty/mourning-in-america-after-decades-of-voodoo-economics-chaos-monitaur-32

Always, thanks a lot for your support, encouragement, and appreciation.

Now I think I have learnt the priceless secret behind your mastery of words. The equation is something like this, genius 10% + perspiration 90% = Excellence. I will personally adopt this approach in my own writings and hope to achieve better results.

I will read through the works in the link and get back to you. I already know why you said they are best read during office hours. To clear up every shit of monotony in the day. Lol

Have a fantastic weekend, sir.

The weekend was "good." I no longer expect or need or want "fantastic" times. But thanks for the wishes anyway.

Hope yours was good.

Regarding writing, the above is so true. I heard it years ago, and while I realized it was true, I never pushed myself (to the point of perspiration) to write much. Eventually, I just started writing more and more, but nothing major and not much that was worth publishing.

But it was all good prep for Steemit. Now, I know that all I have to do is sit at my laptop, push myself to write something, and, along with the perspiration / work, the inspiration will come. And now, it even comes when I walk away from my laptop. But that's because I plant lots of seeds in my WORD files.

Another major part of my writing process is READING and RE-READING and RE-WRITING. I'll write a sentence, then read it and realize that it would sound better if I changed a few words or phrases.

All the best in your writing!

I do that repeatedly, until I come to a point where the text is polished enough to sound good – to me and to the reader (as I'm glad that you can attest!).

My weekend was good, although you left me wondering why you no longer wish for or want fantastic times. Maybe you now sit comfortably on the sofa at the apex of Maslow's pyramid. Lol

The revelations you made above are, frankly speaking, instructive. They are rare tips and, permit me to say, practical. I need to cultivate the habit of writing, reading, and rereading so that, like you, I can cave better sentences and phrases to help polish my articles.

Following your advice, I decided to read your lengthy essays when I arrived office this morning. And I dare say that the monotony of the day has melted already from the liveliness in your essays. There are, in fact, too many things to talk about in your essays. I will, however, make some brisk comments.

To start with, your essay on The People of India was too emotional. It left me almost shedding tears. You really explored the India Caste system, pointing out the stunning social inequality in India. It is actually not the first time I will read about India's caste system. I had some materials on India in my Social Anthropology class. However, yours evoked emotions from within me, perhaps because you illustrated your personal experience with pictures and global facts. You took me to India, right on my seat, and reshaped my thinking about the country.

For me, these words were epic:

To a large extent, they are also the ones who prepare all the food; clean all the homes, offices and shops; repair your cars and appliances; drive the cars and taxis and busses and trains that move people around; and do all the dirty, dangerous, and laborious work. And they do it all for only a very meager percentage of the country’s wealth.

The above words were epic because they summarized the lopsided social structure of India, how the downtrodden build wealth for the rich and still live in misery and abject poverty.

Thereafter, I read The Children of India, which is a kind of sequel to The People of India. I do not have the courage to say more about this very article because of the blinding truth it conveys. It is unimaginable to think that millions of children are out of school in India. Well, what do we expect from the children whose parents are peasants and members of the lowest caste?

And then the last article, Good Mourning America, was awesome. Reading about the voodoo economic policies was enlightening. You uncovered the economic problems of America and I can only agree with you that Trump is a reincarnate of the voodoo economics with his suspicious agenda to build a wall and his 'make America great again' promises.

In all, I see the three works as classic satires and wonder why they didn't trend. And then again, I realize that Steemit is a crazy place where the king walks on the floor and servants ride on horsebacks.

Ps: I look forward to reading such great essays. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for your insightful comments.

Your comment re the caste system are particularly moving. Until one goes to India and sees it firsthand for any length of time, one can never fully understand it.


Nevertheless, when writing about it, I try to give as honest and as factual a representation of the situation as possible. I hope that my words can somehow convey some of the truth, or some extent of the truth. And I'm glad to read that you understood the truth behind my words. That's the important thing.


After a few months of writing such essays, I realized that shorter posts proved more lucrative. That's why I post 5–6 photo-contest entries per week. At first, I felt very "guilty" about wasting my time on trivial photo posts.

But, over time, I've realized that I can add 4-5 paragraphs about the photo, and make these posts relatively high-quality posts, too. And I can sometimes earn $5–$10 of SBD from them.

Anyway, let's keep reading and supporting each other, and also looking for other newby Steemers who will also bring much of value to this platform.

Cheers!

If there is one aspect of your virtual personality that I admire greatly, it is your honesty and bluntness; you do not pretend or overlook things. For instance, you were the first Steemian of high repute to blatantly admit that Discord is difficult to understand. And so, you don't use it.

Your honesty looms through your essays and replies to posts that catch your attention. No pretences of whatever nature. You have just made another honest confession. To quote your words verbatim:

After a few months of writing such essays, I realized that shorter posts proved more lucrative. That's why I post 5–6 photo-contest entries per week. At first, I felt very "guilty" about wasting my time on trivial photo posts

But, over time, I've realized that I can add 4-5 paragraphs about the photo, and make these posts relatively high-quality posts, too. And I can sometimes earn $5–$10 of SBD from them.

I understand you quite well. I have also had reasons to tailor my writings to fit the needs of the Steemit community, especially when I noticed that nobody, or maybe only a microscopic few, cares about my lengthy essays and stories. So, I intentionally write general posts about blockchain, about the Steemit community, about bid bots, about the madness of many. After all, we are primarily here to earn a few SBD here and there. However, one can only strive to add value to the community in the process. I can only hope that, perhaps, once in a while you'd drop the long essays.

As for my support, you have it 1000%. I always appreciate your upvotes and latent tutorials. I look forward to the day I will have enough SP to vote your many brilliant entries.

Regards.

I gotta go to Ko Samui at some point. Is fuck-it worth more? What do you suggest?

Hmm, as I explained above ... I don't really care for Phuket, but when I was in Singapore, I could get a Friday evening flight to Phuket. I'd leave the office at 4 p.m., and about 5 hours later, I'd be on the very remote and quiet beach at Ao Sane.

If you have a reason for going, be that convenience or whatever, you could go there.

It was convenient, so I went. But if I have time, there are many other places in Thailand that I prefer over Phuket. Or, as you might put it.... Fuck it!

Wow fantastic shot and great words about the picture too. Phuket is a great place to go to hit the beach and watch a sunset. Hope you are having a lovely time there.

That was taken 4-5 years ago. I don't really care for Phuket, but when I was in Singapore, I could get a Friday evening flight there. I'd leave the office at 4, and about 5 hours later, I'd be on the very remote and quiet beach at Ao Sane.

And you're right re the sunsets. The entire west and south coasts are great for viewing marvellous sunsets!

Hello friend @majes.tytyty, who photographs more beautiful, you are very lucky to have that wonderful landscape in front of you. How I would like to be in the background of the photograph. The sunset is beautiful and even more if it is accompanied by the sea. Greetings friend JAMES ;). My best wishes for you. I love your blog.

Thanks for your compliments. I'll do my best to keep it interesting.

Congratulations @majes.tytyty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Magnificent sunset photo. You are right, it seems that there was an explosion of orange behind the horizon. Good luck to you and Love.

Великолепное фото заката. Вы правы, такое ощущение, что за горизонтом был взрыв оранжевого цвета. Удачи Вам и Любви.

Nature displays many colors but our ignorance deprives us to see and sense those beautiful colors. Most of the people who live in big cities are not so lucky as you were when you witnessed that beauty and glory of nature. I live in a small city which is not so over populated as other cities in my country. I can see many such sunsets and sunrises in my city. I feel myself lucky too.

Unreal! It looks like the end of the world over there :)

Nice shot and commentary!

Amazing shots. Nature is made with so much beauty. The cloud looks so intriguing and extremely beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77