My Beautiful Day - Winter Walk To Cascade Falls

Now that the winds have died down and temperatures are mild, I got out for a hike today along the Cascade Falls Trail in Patapsco Valley State Park. I took along my new camera to get some raw photos to play with in Affinity Photo, the software package I am trying out instead of buying into the Adobe Lightroom monthly subscription plan.

734EE8D8-0927-42B3-BFD9-1CE43358ECEB.jpeg

The trail starts along a small creek that meanders through the woods for the first half mile. As the elavation starts to drop off as you get closer to the Patapsco River, you start to get some small rapids as the water carves through the rock and picks up speed.

75BB73D2-55A6-42D7-B966-FEE93F68DF58.jpeg

There’s still very little sign of spring and other than the rusty color of the dead leaves in the creek, the moss and lichen on the rocks, and the occasional evergreen tree, there’s not much color to work with.

E801EF9D-CA03-4481-BD89-DCDAF3C73D7E.jpeg

Playing around with my new camera, I took nine raw files and used the stitching feature of Affinity Photo to combine them into one very large very detailed photo. I’m not crazy about how washed out it is, but at least I learned a new feature that will come in handy in the future. It took about a half hour on my iPad to stitch and render the files. I was surprised how easy it was. This photo was taken from the top of the hill looking down at the falls.

3CBDC014-9BDC-4FA4-932E-F2718BDC56A2.jpeg

And here a a few more shots of the main falls from various distances. All shots were taken with my Sony Alpha 7ii camera.

50A1CC38-60C1-4B32-9F66-4CF4B053A743.jpeg

867FED8B-0F6E-49E1-8E34-456F54145AA5.jpeg

Given that this was an early evening hike, these are my contributions to @juliank’s #goldenhourphotography #photocontests.

Below are the daily themes for the #photocontests.

Monday: #foodphotography and #animalphotography
Tuesday: #landscapephotography and #cityscapephotography
Wednesday: #architecturalphotography and #vehiclephotography
Thursday: #macrophotography and #colourfulphotography
Friday: #streetphotography and #portraitphotography
Saturday: #sportsphotography and #smartphonephotography
Sunday: #goldenhourphotography and #longexposurephotography

ECA668D8-07F1-496D-81F2-4CDF335D59C1.jpeg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 4 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 02:57:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 232.05/200.00
Total Photos: 32
Total comments: 52
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Beautiful shots. I bet it was such a refreshing walk. I cant wait for spring!

Thanks! Me too on spring. It will be nice when the time changes to give us some more light in the evening.

I could not agree more have a wonderful day!

Such a beautiful place to hike. Where is this?

Thanks. It’s in Maryland about 12 miles south of Baltimore.

you have really fantastic hands to pick photograph!

You have a good eye and feel for the editing. I like how the pictures make me feel. Peace friend.

Thanks. I appreciate your kind words. Peace to you as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48