Gold Prospecting 101 - Gold Panning Tips and Techniques

in #gold5 years ago (edited)

tipsandtechniquescover.png

Hello and welcome to the second episode of my new

Gold Prospecting 101 series!

15380440_1352283791469422_9020808436172063354_n.jpg

My name is Derek Richardson and I've been prospecting here in California for over six years now. It's safe to say I got GOLD FEVER! In this series I'm gonna share some of what I've learned over the years and hopefully it will inspire you to give it a try too! And when you see how much fun it can be, you just might catch gold fever yourself!!

mountaindivider.jpg

In the first episode I showed you the basic technique for gold panning. In this episode I'm going to go over some helpful tips and techniques for dealing with different types of material. I'm also going to talk more about classifying, including using a magnet to remove some of the black sands! There are many styles and different techniques that prospectors use when gold panning, and I'm sure even I don't know half of them. But these are some of the techniques that I like to use. No matter what your technique is, just always keep in mind that the gold is HEAVY! So here we go... episode 2... lets do some gold panning!

Gold Panning Tips and Techniques

Like I said in the video, if you have any questions please do ask. I'm more than happy to answer. Thank you all so much for tuning in!

I hope to get more detailed and hopefully improve my video production as this series progresses.

mountaindivider.jpg

HP.png

#prospecting101

all photos by @derekrichardson

new CMA banner.png

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
Contact me on Discord

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif
Animation By @zord189

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Dividerbar.jpg

WorldMap banner.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Gifbanner.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for your efforts... a few summers ago I took my family camping and Gold Prospecting.... it was hard work yet fun. We found some very tiny gold flakes but not much.
With all the rain, this year might be better.
Learning from your posts, thanks a mill!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice! Did you go somewhere up in the motherload country? This year is probably gonna be the best year since I started prospecting. I can't wait to get on the river! I'm already hearing stories about the all the flood gold being everywhere. I won't need to dig super deep to find color anymore. It's gonna be awesome!

I'm stoked you are enjoying these posts! If you have any prospecting questions feel free to ask me anytime.

We went into the San Gabriels near Azusa, CA. Some say there is still a lot of gold there. I remember as a young dude many many moons ago, and there were dudes with snorkel gear and floating sluices on that river not a river.
We would be “white water” rafting on inflatables occasionally being missed by flying boulders coming up out of the river from those prospectors... they are no longer allowed to mine that way... only hand tools now.

Heck ya East fork San Gabriel is the spot! I love it up there. My home away from home. That's where I get 95% of my gold. There is still a ton of gold up there. People have no idea. I've seen some huge nuggets come out of there. The biggest one was almost 5 troy oz! The "floating sluices" your talking about are called dredges. The legality of dredging is an ongoing battle. It was totally illegal for awhile, but I know last year it was legal if you got a permit (I think it was last year could've been 2 years ago). Which a permit was almost impossible to get, but I saw the guys at AMRA had one and were dredging up there in the mother load country. I've personally never used a dredge, but I'm not against using them. White water rafting on inflatables sounds like fun. lol. The way the river has been recently after all this rain you could straight up kayak down the East fork!

Wow,’you know it!! Awesome. Many moons ago I jumped off that bridge.... into the lake below. Maybe this year it’ll be like that again??

And yeah I remember hearing that the mining stopped not from lack of gold but because the roads kept washing out thus the Bridge to Nowhere.

That place at one point was literally my home. Not sure about kayaking due to all the rocks, but back then we would park at the end of the road, hike for a while, set up camp, then hike further up River only to raft back down past camp, past all the camps down river getting almost to the lake. By then the car was waiting only so we could go back up and do it all over again. We would do that endless until the then snowmelt would allow.

Ah, those were the days.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You jumped off the East fork bridge into the reservoir!! You're my hero. lol. I've thought about it so many times. Just hasn't had enough water in years though. I was up there a couple weekends ago and the water looked pretty deep there. The whole OHV area is underwater.

Yep. Both the bridge to nowhere and the tunnels to nowhere are remnants of the attempts at building a road through there. I don't know what they were thinking, it's such a rugged canyon.

You actually lived on the fork? That's awesome! I wish I could. I love it up there. I'm thinking about planning a SoCal Steemit meetup at The Oaks picnic area up there in the next month or two. I'm gonna take up a bunch of prospecting gear and anyone who is interested can do some digging in the morning and then we'll have the meetup/picnic later in the afternoon. If you can you should come. It'd be great to meetup and exchange East Fork stories!

Yeah that was well over 20 years ago so fear was near nil while stupidity was off the charts.

And yeah, When I was about 18 I got thrown out so at at night I would ride my Harley up there and sleep in the canyon. Spent many summer days and nights there but rafting was probably the best memories.

And yes, definitely would like to meet up there, so hopefully I can make it.
Thanks and take care!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @derekrichardson! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

Dear derekrichardson:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

I really don't appreciate the spam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64