You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learn Something New Every Day Contest. Day 2

Pretty cool. Are there many people that are preserving the language? I can imagine that people igbonize English words, happens with a lot of languages. I remember that in High School during French exams I used to write down English words with a l'accent circonflexe if I didn't know the French word.
Last question, do you know any artists that use Igbo in their art (paintings, mural etc.)? Would love to see those works.

Sort:  

Thanks. Mostly the very old people are preserving the language. Most middle aged people just speak it to themselves. About 30% of Young adults hardly speak and about 90% of children don't know it. I'm sure there are lots of artists. I'll find some pictures of artworks and get it to you😊

Thanks. One of our most renown artists in Suriname, Marcel Pinas, uses the Afaka syllabary in his paintings (Some images: https://www.google.sr/search?q=marcel+pinas+afaka&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjF7uemgr3YAhUB8CYKHTwQBd4Q_AUICigB&biw=1355&bih=559).
Not much is known about Afaka, aside from it having African roots. The signs really bring a special feel to the artworks, unfortunately none of us know what is actually written.

Wow. His representation of the symbols are beautiful. Very genius to do a painting on syllabry.

Please may I have your Steemit.chat username so we can talk more

Weirdly enough not active on Steemit.chat. I am active on Discord. Under @jeanlucsr. Same for Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and Snapchat :)

Not weird😊 I'll try discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45