Book of Proverbs (plus bonus proverbs) | Part 8

in #godwaves6 years ago (edited)

Continuing on from my Part 7 post with the Book of Proverbs written by King Solomon the son of King David... Most people have heard of the name 'King Solomon' and quite rightly too. The bible tells us he was at the time (I don't know if it still applies today) the wisest among all men, "And he spake three thousand proverbs: and his songs were a thousand and five."
1 Kings 4:32

The Commendation of Wisdom

1 Does not wisdom call,
And understanding lift up her voice?
2 On top of the heights beside the way,
Where the paths meet, she takes her stand;
3 Beside the gates, at the opening to the city,
At the entrance of the doors, she cries out:
4 “To you, O men, I call,
And my voice is to the sons of men.
5 “O naive ones, understand prudence;
And, O fools, understand wisdom.
6 “Listen, for I will speak noble things;
And the opening of my lips will reveal right things.
7 “For my mouth will utter truth;
And wickedness is an abomination to my lips.
Pro 8:1-7



Teachings of King Solomon

Proverbs 8

'The fear of the Lord is to hate evil;
Pride and arrogance and the evil way
And the perverted mouth, I hate.'
(Pro 8:13)

'For wisdom is better than jewels,
and all that you may desire cannot compare with her.'
(Pro 8:11)

'“The Lord possessed me [wisdom] at the beginning of His way,
Before His works of old.
23 “From everlasting I was established,
From the beginning, from the earliest times of the earth.'
(Pro 8:22-23)

“When He established the heavens, I was there,
When He inscribed a circle on the face of the deep...
29 When He set for the sea its boundary
So that the water would not transgress His command,
When He marked out the foundations of the earth'
(Pro 8:27, 29)

“Blessed is the man who listens to me,
Watching daily at my gates,
Waiting at my doorposts.
35 “For he who finds me finds life
And obtains favor from the Lord.'
(Pro 8:34-35)
Proverbs 8


Proverbs I've written

'Holding on to the past is letting go of the future'

'A neglected heart is like an overgrown garden'

'The act of compassion maintains the gift of forgiveness'



GIF sources

Next Post - Part 9


Thanks for investing your time 😊 if you'd like to see more I'd invite you to

Join the Christian Curation Trail via https://steemauto.com/
DQmTEqc9yfnsnWbfVAQVB4cKGDM5fvnFgZJAgPq8Z5ZEMfs.jpg

For up to date Christian content follow @Steemchurch @flamingbot @christian-trail @forgodsglory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67244.31
ETH 2625.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68