You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freud and the Oedipus Complex

in #godflesh6 years ago

I wish I could find the article to link, but if you search for it, I believe you could find it. In the article, I read that though many believe that Freud was heavily influenced by Oedipus, you see more of a correlation to his thought process with the story of Hamlet, by Shakespeare. It stated Freud's Oedipus complex should actually be called the "Hamlet Complex".

Sort:  

It sounds interesting, I will search for it , thank you :)

@godflesh this was the article. It states Oedipus's influence is a misnomer. It should be called the hamlet complex.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.newyorker.com/books/page-turner/hamlet-a-love-story/amp

Thank you very much. Now I want to read his essay "Psychopathic Characters on the Stage". :D

Never heard about it and sound really interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70118.25
ETH 3744.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84