Where Do We Find Our Moral Compass Today ?

in #god8 years ago (edited)

In this information age it seems our lives have become much more complex and hard to manage.
Maybe I'm just getting older and change is happening faster than my old hard drive can handle. No matter where you go it seems everyone's lives revolve around their phone. Certainly mine does. Between emails, text messages and phone messages it is hard to get a break. As a matter of fact I don't think I ever get a break any more I just have to make it a point to take a break. I think we all need to take time for ourselves just to maintain our sense of self. Think about it. All the information in the world is available through that little electronic device we carry in our pocket, purse or on our belt. Knowledge has been the great human quest since time began so it is only part of our make up to stay connected and to learn and know what's going on in the world. I am reminded of the saying "Ignorance is Bliss." Maybe all this information and knowledge is part of the problem we all face today.
How can we relax and have peace when all we hear about is man's inhumanity to man all around the world. Years ago what we didn't know couldn't hurt us so thus Ignorance was bliss. The local church or church hall was the main meeting place and the Bible provided the moral compass or road map for most of society to follow. I think it is much harder today to determine where the road is let alone which path to follow. I do think most people want to be good and do what is right. Most of us no matter our religious faith believe in goodness. Life here on earth seems to be a never ending battle between good and evil. The interesting thing about that is that very few evil men actually think they are evil. I have studied many faiths and most are based on the underlying principle of goodness and a loving God. I can assure you goodness and a loving God have nothing to do with blowing up innocent women and children. That is pure unadulterated evil. Good has to stand up to evil but violence begets violence and only instills hate in the hearts and minds of men and women. So what is the answer ? What is the solution ? I believe in God and I cherish my relationship with Him. That belief and faith give me the strength to deal with my daily struggles. I can tell you that but I can't give you that. You have to reach out to God and obtain that for yourself.
Revelation 3:20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.
Please be assured this is not meant to be any attempt on my part to persuade you to do anything other than to explain what I do to have some peace in my life. My point is you can't expect God to help you if you don't ask Him. Simple as that. In this increasingly insane world we need to be more tolerant, more patient and more loving towards each other. The internet and technology is making us less human and less caring. We need to resist that despite corporations trying to automate everything in the name of profit. We are human and most of us do care about each other. Now we all know we have no control over or can't change another person so how do we deal with those difficult people ? Mother Teresa gave us the answer and the solution. Here it is.

DO IT ANYWAY by Mother Teresa

People are often unreasonable, illogical, and self centered; Forgive them anyway.

If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish ulterior motives; Be kind anyway.

If you are successful, you will win some false friends and some true enemies; Succeed anyway.

If you are honest and frank, people may still cheat you; Be honest and frank anyway.

What you spend years building, someone could destroy overnight; Build anyway.

If you find serenity and happiness, people may be jealous; Be happy anyway.

The good you do today, people will often forget tomorrow; Do good anyway.

Give the world the best you have, and it may never be enough; Give the world the best you've got anyway.

You see, in the final analysis, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.

How could that little lady be so wise ? (Do you suppose she had a little help? )

God Bless
Larry

Sort:  

Congratulations @novascotia! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @novascotia! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66