You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Use GNU/Linux Over Microsoft And Mac.

in #gnu-linux7 years ago

I have been wanting to install linux on my old win xp laptop. Not a big windows fan. I loved win 3.1, but it is way too complicated now. Desktop is win 10. I may even be able to rejuvenate my really old win 98 desktop, too.

Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

Thanks for reading! Would be interested to know how things work out on the older laptop, Mint seems to run well on lower spec machines (though one could go real low and use lubuntu, runs on 500 MB RAM!).

Thanks for the tips! I was hoping to get a usb virtual machine type setup, plug and play, fully portable.

My pleasure.
Portable ROCKS, though knowing the right FUNCTION key to press (along with the trickery of the UEFI vs BIOS there for awhile, not much any more) make it an art form all in it's own.
Virtually, all you need is the ISO file of the OS - most virtual managers will mount the ISO image and run/install it from the local file.
The more Memory the better (wish I had more memory, and not just talking about my laptop).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56890.04
ETH 2356.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39