Trans-Mongolia Rail Adventure: Exploring The Beautiful Flower City of Irkutsk, SiberiasteemCreated with Sketch.

My third stop in my Trans-Mongolia Rail Adventure is the City of Irkutsk, Siberia. Irkutsk received its city status in 1686. It developed into a beautiful city and in the 1900’s it was given the tittle “ Paris Of Siberia”. This City is rather small with an area of 227 sq. km. and a population of more than 600,000. With its small size, it was easy for me and my wife to explore Irkutsk by foot. One the things that struck me was there were flowers every way. Flowers can be seen in the squares, monuments, sidewalks, streets, churches, and business premises. Here I will share photographs of the various sights at Irkutsk that are blooming with flowers.


Kirov Square


Flowers lining the sidewalks


Flowers in pots on concrete pavement.


Flowers at the clock tower.


The Lenin Monument becomes more outstanding due to the presence of beautiful flowers.


Flowers along Lenin Street.


Even street lamps are decorated with flowers.


The shop at 130 Quarter looks more inviting due to the presence of the flowers.


Colorful flowers lining up the steps of staircase.


An outdoor cafe beautifully decorated with flowers.


Even the fencing of the Delta Business Hotel is decorated with flowers.

The City Administration and the citizens of Irkutsk have taken great pains to beautiful their city with flowers every way. My memory of Irkutsk is that of a magical flower land and the love of its people for flowers. Do follow my journey as I travel to Lake Baikal which is the largest fresh water lake in the world.

Do check out my previous posts

The Trans-Mongolia Rail Adventure: Horseback Riding In The Wilderness of Mongolia
If Life Is About Memories, What Kind Of Memories Are You Building
Off The Beaten Track: Exploring The Hutongs Of Beijing

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

Some love has been given. Keep it up.

Thank you for your support and encouragement

Stunning! It's so pretty there 🌼🌸

Looks cold though!

It's summer here but still cool

That is a garden of heaven I love the color contrast , it makes the whole garden stick out

It is very beautiful here. Siberia actually has a harsh climate, but the people take great pains to grow the flowers.

It's gorgeous for sure ! Steem on

The flowers make the city so beautiful.

Super nice, Upvoted!
love people that travel and this one is on my list for a long time.
Will keep my eye out for your blogs.
Enjoy your trip
i travelled for four years and blogging about it now

I hope that you will be able to make this trip as well. I had been planning this for sometime. I am sure that you will enjoy it as well.

Irkutsk, the city of Pjotr, nice. I fiction character from a Dutch children book. Brings back memories.

Thank you for this interesting fact. I did not know that.

LOL how could you, it was a Dutch writer, and am not sure of the book got translated in English. But I always remembered Irkutsk because of that and that makes me wanna do the train from Moscow to the east of Russia. NJOY your trip!

I hope that one day you can make this wonderful trip too

Thanks, I'm pretty sure it'll happen sometime :)

It sure is stunning

The flowers are really colorful and beautiful... The nearest to Mongolia that I have been to is China... I visited Shanghai, Beijing, HangZhou, GuangZhou before.... I think it's because of the climate there is different than the one here in Malaysia... so the flowers are different too... I really love the colors ... especially your second photo.. Love the yellow one the most.. :D

The flowers make the city so beautiful.

Yes. They do

Very beautiful photos of the country. Any chance you can plot your journey on a map. This will show us your route and can help future travellors.

I will do it when I am more free.

i just love the vibrant of colors..so beautiful

Yes, it is so beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84