The Trans-Mongolia Rail Adventure: Horseback Riding In The Wilderness of MongoliasteemCreated with Sketch.

The Mongols and Their Horses

History has described Mongolia as an “Asian Empire won on horseback” as well as the land of the horse. The Mongols are probably the best horsemen in the world and even now horses play an important role in their daily lives. Nowadays the horses are used for travelling, herding, hunting, and in sports. There are songs, music and paintings about horses. Even most statues have their heroes sitting on horses.

In the past, the Mongols attacked and invaded other countries using armies mounted on horses and chariots. Their superior horsemanship enabled them to ride up to 80 miles across difficult terrain, a feat unmatched by other armies. In fact the legendary warrior Chinggis Khan was known as “Hell’s Horseman” and he established a wide empire extending from Hungary, Korea, Siberia to Tibet.

My Horseback Riding Adventure

Mongolia was my second stop for my Trans-Mongolia Rail Adventure. During my third day in Mongolia, I had a chance to do some horseback riding in the Terelj National Park, about 50 km from Ulan Bator. That morning four of us rode to the Manzushir Buddhist Monastery located at the south side of the Bogd Khan Mountain. The journey took one hour each way. And as we traveled through winding mountain paths, we admired the stunning scenery of the Mongolian grassland. We passed by Gers and grazing livestock such as horses, cows, sheep and goat before we arrived at the Monastery.

The Four Magnificent Horsemen


Yours truly from Borneo


Mei from Hong Kong


Manuel from Italy


My wife Roselind


The horse ride was thrilling amidst the stunning scenery.


The gate to the Manzushir Monastery where we tied the horses and hiked up to the temple.

Manzushir Buddhist Monastery

This Monastery was built in 1749 but was later destroyed by the Russians when they invaded Mongolia. What is left standing today are ruins of temple and two buildings which have been converted into a nature museum and temple museum respectively.


A stone statue in the grounds of the monastery.


The grounds of the monastery are very stony.


The Museum temple housed religious articles such as ritual clothes, masks and instruments which are used in religious rituals.


What is now left standing are the ruins of the monastery.


Behind me is the Nature Museum exhibited stuffed animals, various paintings made of leaves, sand and stone other 17 -18 centuries artefacts such as stone for milling grain, Mongolian Ger and tipi (conical tent) and other ancient equipment.

While I was riding back from the Monastery, I feel quite sad that a once magnificent temple complex has been destroyed by the hatred, ignorance and prejudices of human beings. This is a sacred place, a place of worship and yet no due respect was given. Judging from our present conditions, it seems that we human beings have yet to learn our lessons.

Do check out my previous posts

If Life Is About Memories, What Kind Of Memories Are You Building
Off The Beaten Track: Exploring The Hutongs Of Beijing

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

Great photos. Following you for some more of your adventure in Mongolia. Its in my wishlist too.

I am glad that you enjoyed my post. I have been planning this trip for a long time and I am happy that I finally made it. I hope that you will have the chance to go for this adventure, you will enjoy it.
Do check out my post about Beijing.
Off The Beaten Track: Exploring The Hutongs Of Beijing

Sure. I will. Happy traveling @positivesteem.

I think Mongolia is on the top of my list of places that I want to visit. What a fascinating place!

Thanks for the great post!

I hope that you can make it to Mongolia. You will enjoy it.

Beautiful nature and nice horses, thanks for sharing

I am glad you liked it. Do follow me for the rest of my adventure.

Very nice .. looks like it was loads of fun

Looks really nice there in Mongolia. Already slept in a Yurt?

Oh yes, I slept in a Mongolian Ger. I will write about it later.

Nice! :)

Nice post. Mongolia is a place in my wish list, hope that I will have a chance to go soon!

Do make an effort to go. You will enjoy it.

Awesome! I was in Mongolia in '04 and '05 but it was for some performances so I didn't get too much time in the wild.. The horses are quite small, I had trouble with the saddle.. lol... Did manage to drink some airag and visit a ger tent.. Amazing place and it looks like you had a great time!

I did have a great time. This the first time i rode a horse for two hours.

Congratulations @positivesteem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

How FUN!! I've always wanted to ride the Trans-Mongolian Railway. Thank you for sharing your photos and thoughts, @positivesteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83