Real Girl Talk - Lets Open Up The Conversation - Ask Me Anything

in #girltalk8 years ago (edited)

I’ve been on lurking around Steemit for a while now and I feel like there’s a lack of a female presence on this platform. I’m not talking about you know, posting more pictures of women’s bodies with cleavage or asses. I’m talking about the other stuff.

I’m here to open up the conversation. Lets talk about everything and anything. Lets talk about relationships, dating, birth control, sexual harassment, abortion, body-image issues, eating disorders. Anything goes, everything will be welcomed as long as it is done with good intentions. I kind of want this to be a type of “Big Sister” relationship. Anything you ever wanted to know but were too shy to ask a female, this is your chance. But, I also want this to be a source of motivation and support for those who need it. You can find me on Steemit.chat @girltalk and message me there. I’ll accept questions on anything, if I can’t address your question in a post I will try to reply to your message directly. Everyone will remain ANON.

I have many years of experience being an older sister, although sometimes I wish I had my own big sister to look up to and ask for help. I’m not here to give medical advice though, don’t get me wrong. I love helping people, I would help anyone in any way that I could. But, if it is about personal health I highly recommend seeking the proper medical attention you need from trusted doctors.

If there is anyone who can offer advice or a different perspective on a topic, I welcome it. I just want to keep the discussion clean, and respectful to all parties.

For this first post I want to address Female Representation in The Media.


Recently, due to the Olympics in Rio there has been a lot of talks about how women are highlighted in the news. Women’s achievements were being undermined simply because they are women.

For example:


Wife of Bear’s lineman Wins Bronze Medal.

What? What does being the wife of a Bear’s lineman have anything to do with being capable of winning a medal at an Olympics? Corey Cogdell-Unrein won her bronze medal in trap shooting due to her great talent with guns and many many MANY hours of hard work and training. Yes, of course her husband must have been supporting her and getting her through days when training did not go as well as she hoped. But instead of referring to the winning Olympian solely as a wife, Chicago Tribune could’ve have used her name instead.

Another example:

Which one, when you look at objectively looks like the higher achievement? Being tied for silver, or setting a new world record and winning a gold? Apparently, being tied for silver trumps a gold medal.

In this year’s Olympics, 45% percent of the athletes were women. American women brought home 58 medals of all kinds versus the 45 that the men brought back. Clearly, women are no longer sitting at the back of the bus, they are driving it. Yet, why is it taking so long for society and media to give credit to where credit is due? It’s completely insane to believe that gender inequality is still so prevalent in today’s society.

Not only are women being undermined in sports but in practically all other areas. I hope that more women find enough courage to enter men dominated fields, but until then we can start by supporting and encouraging the women in our lives.

Sometimes though, how women are represented in the media is only half of the problem. Women are over sexualized, and are often portrayed as weak and submissive objects that are there to pleasure men. Men too, are represented unfairly in the media; they can only ‘have’ women if they are rich and have a Greek’s god body.
What kind of message do think this sends to the younger generation? It sends a message to men, that they are entitled to a woman’s attention simply because he can pay for it and that women must rely on men to supply their needs. It puts unfair pressure to both genders, and sets unrealistic standards.

Women are pressured into getting plastic surgery and going on dangerous diets to fit the beauty standard. It’s no wonder why eating disorders are on the rise. With practically every celebrity nowadays getting lip injections, butt implants and having them at the center of attention on multiple platforms; it’s a recipe for disaster.

I’ve recently been browsing Instagram and I’ll stumble across picture of these girls that look to be 25, but in reality they are only 14. They have the full Kardashian contour makeup, the short skirt, the deep neck dresses that expose way too much skin for a 14 year old. When I was 14 I remember playing in a sand pit, riding my bike and the only makeup I wore was the sunscreen that my mother forced me to wear. It’s shocking and kind of upsetting to see that these ‘kids’ are no longer experiencing a care-free childhood. Instead they worry about having the latest lipstick, buying the most recent iPhone, and wearing the most popular brands.

I understand that with new technology and new trends that the average childhood will change from generation to generation, but when is it too much?

I hope for a positive change. Let’s not objectify women’s bodies and set unrealistic standards of what ‘beauty’ is. Let’s tell men that it’s okay to be sensitive and to not be a “macho man”. Let’s encourage each other to be the best version of ourselves as possible.

There is only one you and the world needs you. Could you imagine if everyone was trying to be the same person? The world would get boring quick.

And in life, don't let others diminish yourself worth. Do not let anyone else take credit for your achievements. Its you who put in the hard work, its you who put in the time and effort, and its you who deserves to be recognized.

Sort:  

Honestly I think a big contributor to this way of thinking is a lack of education. Everyone is to blame, schools, parents, mentors and the media. The whole system is setup by people who are trying to enslave the world. The problem of gender bias is only a symptom of a greater threat to this world. If you really want to fix this problem fixing the root of the problem is the only way. The people controlling this world are trying to create an education gap between castes.

Thats a very good point! Its more than just social media, its everything.

Thank you for your comment :)

Congratulations @girltalk! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @girltalk! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @girltalk! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60171.52
ETH 2421.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46