I'm not bossy. I'm the Boss. And I'm here to tell you about the Ban Bossy Campaign.

in #girls7 years ago (edited)

✨As a little girl (ok, maybe actually my whole life) I was always ridiculed for "being bossy". And honestly, the negative connotation was not lost on my developing sense of reality. This feedback from the world around me hurt my developing ego. My intention, even as a small child, was never to be domineering, or rude, mean, or vindictive.

I've just always known what I want, and I can usually see a way to get it.

And I don't see anything inherently wrong with that.

"You're being bossy".

What does that even mean?

I've teamed up with the Ban Bossy Campaign on this one. Here is what they have to say on the matter:

"When a little boy asserts himself, he's called a “leader.” Yet when a little girl does the same, she risks being branded “bossy.” Words like bossy send a message: don't raise your hand or speak up. By middle school, girls are less interested in leading than boys—a trend that continues into adulthood. Together we can encourage girls to lead."

If you know a little girl who is showing the traits we celebrate in our leaders early on in life, let her know that she is The Boss. Encourage her to grow into the naturally gifted and autonomous being that she is.

The more I ponder it now, as a grown woman, the more I get this feeling that "being bossy" is a put down aimed at someone who has a particular desired outcome in their mind, understands the means to push toward that outcome, and acts with determination in that direction.

I've also noticed a correlation: these people are the most able to manifest these desires in their reality.

To me, this is a set of traits that could positively effect the direction of society, if we foster it in the children around us. Especially the little girls. Desire, direction, and clarity, complemented by a balance of compassion, humility, and seasoned with the understanding that while we may each have a particular direction we want to go in to reach our desired outcome, when we can find a way to work together that honors the focus of each person equally and causes no harm, we'll each reach our goals much faster.

In honor of turning "being bossy" into Being The Boss, I created this meme:

IMG_1849.JPG

✨And yes, this is me. Rocking out with Stirling in the Sun (my band in University). This was therapy for me in my early twenties, the thing that really kept me going amidst the flurry of flirting and slurring words that was my day to [night to] day...

A place where I was accepted for being me, 100% of the time. Where I was celebrated for my off the wall energy and my random ideas always requiring immediate action.

A place where my desire to climb tall things and sing my thoughts out really loud in rhyme was well-timed and appreciated. This area of permission for my I Am The Boss essential nature has formed and formulated much of the person I am today.

I'm looking forward to getting that mic back in my face again.... ✨


I create memes, a synergy of original photos of my experiences and tiny gems of inspiration I've unearthed in my readings.

If you like what you see, come follow me and watch as I post them to my Instagram and Twitter accounts, and on my website at www.stirlingmoriah.com

I also just published my Introduction Post, please check it out if you're interested in learning more about me!

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. It's the second I've done, and I'm learning so much as I go, about how to format, Best Practices, what people are interested in reading. I'm open to feedback, and I'm excited to learn more, so please drop a line in the comments <3

~ @stirling

Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Oh wow! Yes please and THANK YOU!!!

Much appreciation for your curation initiative!!!

<3 <3 <3

Lol just saw this.

Awesome!

Let's kill double standards.

Following both you and @OCD

:)

So is that a yes? Lol

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha..... yes...

Okay! I did my part submitting. We can only wait and see what happens!

Cool! Thank you!

Woohoo, you're boss baby! Let me know what I can do:-) I'll find a mic for you if you head this way :-D

So glad to see you, and to find you so quick at random, lucky catch :-*

OMG HAPPY IS THIS YOU???!!!!!

YES! I adore you. Thank you BOSS BABE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57428.63
ETH 2425.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34