i don't want to get married

in #girls8 years ago

I knew what I wanted in her life – to get an  education and become a teacher. I was able to stop my own marriage  and continue my studies but many other girls  are not in the  same position. When i was just 16 years old, my mother told me that a family  would come and make me a marriage proposal. The ninth grader couldn’t  concentrate at school as she was familiar with her village’s tradition  of marrying away girls before they turn twenty. I feared that my parents might agree with the proposal under  pressure from their community. When she returned home from school she  made it clear to her parents: “I won’t marry unless I am 20 under any  circumstances. Please send away the family that is coming to see me  tonight.” She pleaded with her mother to stop the wedding. The prospective groom arrived with his family after i had gone  to bed. Due to my stance against the marriage, my parents  declined the marriage proposal despite the family promising affluent  life for their daughter as the boy was going abroad for work. 


Sort:  

Congratulations @neharani! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @neharani! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69