A Little Autumn HarveststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #ghsc6 years ago (edited)

Well the rain stopped for a few days, so I decided to get my seed corn out of the field before it got wet again. 20180930_170349.jpg

My 2 year old son helped me carry ears of corn to the wagon joyfully and I told him, "remember when you helped me plant these seeds? look at all the corn we grew! you've been through the entire growing season now!" I think he really enjoys it and understands how amazing growing living things are. Perhaps he understands better than we do.

I have spent the past few weeks trying to buy a 100-year-old farmhouse to renovate (pixabay image, not a picture of actual house). we came very close to pulling the trigger and getting it under contract when I decided to bring in some experienced friends and family to assess the situation. They convinced me that I would regret buying the old house and that I had overlooked $40K or so in repairs and upgrades and was not taking Virginia law into account. For Thousands of years our ancestors lived in caves, tents, tipis, yurts, wigwams, straw huts, thatched roof stone houses, mud huts, and log cabins and I had the luck of being born now? I know adaptation and positivity are the main skills I need to cultivate in myself, but is it too much to ask to live free?

October is my favorite month. It just seems like magical things happen and we get to wear flannel! many old friends have contacted me in the past week saying they are coming in for a visit soon. I am giving them coordinates to my favorite spot in the woods, and an invitation to join us there. We need some peace and quiet to remember who we are and what is important. Peace out!

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I agree - my kids loving picking the food they help to plant. They will even try to eat more, if they know they planted it. We are going to plant a lot more next year.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

howdy from Texas wildlocusthoney! I saw this post on nateonsteemit's feed and decided to check it out. the answer to your question..no we can't live free anymore, you're about a hundred years too late for that unfortunately!
but lets enjoy what little we have left while we still can! that bottom photo is amazing!

Actual pictures of our adventure coming soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44