You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our new baby goatie! ♥ She's a sweetheart!

in #ghsc6 years ago

Thanks!
Yep, the kids named all our goats! We have a Ninja, Faline, Pixie, Ella, Luna, Didgeridoo, and Scootaloo! They are quite creative.
It would be tough for sure! That is the worst part of raising dairy goats, having to sell the adorable little boogers.

Sort:  

This is exactly the problem I think about when I consider raising farm animals myself. I would wind up with ten thousand chickens and three hundred goats and an uncountable number of rabbits because there is no way I could ever get rid of the babies, let alone consider butchering them.

I'm glad to hear you're raising dairy goats. At least if you sell one it has a chance at a good home. (If that's not the case, do not tell me. I don't want to know. ) I have a friend who used to raise and sell meat goats. (In Missouri where there was a sizeable Middle Eastern population. Apparently goat meat is popular with them. She said there was a market for all she could raise.) Srsly, I can't even talk about it. We avoided the subject.

It is a hard topic for sure!
Yes, here, they have a great chance of being put into good homes. They are more expensive than your run-of-the mill goat, and they are not only bony dairy goats, they are miniature bony dairy goats, so really not worth raising for meat anyway. If we ever can't sell our babies, that is a back up plan. We dont have enough land to keep infinite goats, (although that would be AWESOME!), so we have to do something. Luckily, I actually have a waiting list of people for my goaties, and I have never had difficulty selling them.

Butchering animals is no fun for sure. Its one of those things, once you get past the hurdle of doing it the first time, it gets easier. With practice you become more efficient. It never becomes a fun chore though. It is always sad, and I dont like doing it, but if we are going to eat meat, Id rather eat what I know had a great life and a clean death.

Thanks for stopping by!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61952.36
ETH 2417.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64