You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Last Night I Dreamt About Chickens: Building the New Chook House

in #ghsc6 years ago

There's a feed store close to home that has chicks for $5. I've been contemplating showing up at home one day with a few more, but I'm pretty sure Melissa would hit me for it...

At the permaculture intro class I attended a few weeks back, there was an austrailian woman with her homeschooled kiddos attending. The guy teaching explained that in Australia y'all call em chooks. Except he said it "chooks" like the same sound as "choo-choo train." She promptly interrupted and corrected him. We all got a kick out of it.

Sort:  

Ha that's a classic!!!! So to call our chooks we say: 'Here, chooky chooky chooky'... now you can speak to yours in Australian!!!! Ive located some Plymouths, fingers crossed

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll try that instead of "hey you, with the feathers!" Maybe it'll work better.

Are plymouths the same over there as over here?

Screenshot_20181030-092441.png

Yes, they most definitely are! I have 6 arriving on Saturday, they're only 12 weeks though... but I like getting them as babies.

ahahah - hey you with the feathers!! I'll try to get a sound bite of J. calling the chooks, it's quite lovely and funny too...

Sweet! A three month head start! Though I agree, baby chicks are a lot of fun. My first three were about three months old, then I got babies. Next, I'm gonna let one of the girls raise a few in the spring. Don't tell the wife though, she doesn't want any more.

In my past experience with chickens, the Plymouth Rock breed was a pretty well mannered chicken, as much as any of them are. I think my worst experience with chickens was with Rhode Island Reds, they were just plain mean.
I really like the Buff Orpington also, I had a hen of that breed that would hatch eggs.
I miss having chickens, it's been about 20 years since I had them. I used to live in the country and moved into town, and the town doesn't allow people to keep chickens.

Oh that's a shame. I really wanted Buff Orphington but couldn't find them!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75