You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STIR FRY MIX PREP - PRESERVING FOOD FOR WINTER

in #ghsc6 years ago

Awesome! Great video on food prep! Question how do you know which vegetables need to be blanched before freezing? I know back in California I grew some amazing broccoli had some fresh, steamed some, then froze the rest. But we didn't blanche them, later when we tried to cook up the frozen ones they tasted terrible. I asked my mom why, and she said that the broccoli needed to be blanched first. Now my garden is so small and has been for the past several years, that I always eat everything fresh, haha, and have never experimented with freezing veggies. I freeze fruit all the time from the store for my smoothies, which of course don't need to be blanched.

Sort:  

All of these seem to work well with just freezing them. The only thing that might be suspect in my opinion would be the green beans, but they are chopped small and mixed in, so we might never notice.

Cool! Well if they work they work! haha :) Awesome you have such a great harvest! It's like growing money on plants and trees!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69