STIR FRY MIX PREP - PRESERVING FOOD FOR WINTER

in #ghsc6 years ago

This will make life a lot easier while it cuts costs and preserves the harvest.


Since we have electricity and freezer space, this is one incredibly easy way to preserve our harvest and prepare meals ahead of time. After a request from @dswigle, I made this video on how I prep these stir fry meals. Also, I include a few vegetable cutting tips to help you save time in the kitchen. Enjoy!

STIR FRY PREP VIDEO

PUTTING IT UP!

A big harvest can seem like a lot of work to process, but it's not really that bad. Also, by comparison, it's a lot wiser to do a lot of work at once and save time later! Last night, I prepared fourteen meals to enjoy this winter!

By the time I was done we had fourteen different stir fry mixes ready to freeze and an additional eighteen quart jars of pickled canned too. Now, whenever we want a quick and easy, healthy meal in the winter, all we have to do is heat up some oil or butter in a pan, toss in a frozen bag, and cover! It'll just be that easy!

Another incredible part is that this is all the "waste" that I made! Technically, it's not even waste because it'll be used to feed the chickens and then end up in the compost bin! We'll use it all!

One thing that makes this even better is that there are only four dishes to wash, two knives, a spoon, and a cutting board. If I prepared these meals separately, I would have to do these dishes fourteen times! Now, I'll wash them once and be done! How cool is that?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-prepared-stir-fry-mix

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

You totally rock! Thanks for the heads up and for tagging me! For some reason, I don't ever see you in my feed, I have to search you out. Whatever! I appreciate the video!

Thanks for all the tips on cutting and putting them together. I truly mean that. It was an awesome thing for you to do.

You truly are as amazing as people say you are! Thank you!! 💓

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

LOL - "truly as amazing..."

I'll take their word for it, and yours! Glad that you liked the tips on cutting them.

Absolutely! Thanks, again! One question I thought of last night! @papa-pepper If you are using freezer bags as opposed to the seal-a-meal type bags for long-term freezing, do any of the veggies get freezer burned?

Every piece got a purpose.
Circle of life, you feed everything anything.
Cool beans! Your family eats healthy.
Your animals eat healthy so you eat healthier.

Yeah! It all has a purpose around here!

I am selling all my squash and beans but I have been drying kale like crazy. Over 2 pounds dried and bagged so far. Our cherry tomatoes will get bagged into 10 pound bags and thrown into the freezer whole. Then if we want pasta sauce we just pour a bunch into a pot and heat them up till they mush. Saves tons of time with not having to do the canning of normal tomato preservation.

I really need to do this when I get a bit of excess produce in a sales lull, (WHICH I HOPE I DON'T HAVE!), but I need to preserve some produce for US.

Wow! Very nice! LOL on the "HOPE I DON'T HAVE!"

Wonderful opportunity to take advantage of everything, the essentials of food, in countries like mine where there are few resources this would be a great idea, I am amazed with the process, source of energy preserved without getting lost without garbage, I congratulate you of truthful,

Nice one.i never thought of this idea.thanks for sharing @papa-pepper

Now you and your family will have lots of food for the next winter to come!

howdy there @papa-pepper! international man! Canada shirt, hat from somewhere else, looks foreign anyway. love that counter space to do all that cutting and the efficiency tips are first class!

Nice! Glad that you like the tips. Also, you forgot the wife and girls decked out in African dresses for that international part.

Very cool, @papa-pepper. I cam from a family with 7 kids. My mom and great aunt had a huge garden. During the summer and fall, they were always canning and freezing veggies and fruit. Being the eldest, I hard a lot of first-hand experience in how to preserve food for winter. It came in handy when I had a large family...

Amazing how real life skills can come in handy, isn't it?

I never thought when I when peeling pears, apples and peaches, and cleaning up veggies at 8 or 9 years old that I would be using these skills as an old lady to feed another large group of people...

I am all for washing less dishes. It’s smazing how you guys are living off your land, without waste. Love your style @papa-pepper 💓

Thank you so much, always! It is refreshing, encouraging, and productive to be living this way, and we don't regret the lifestyle change for a moment! Thanks!

Awesome! Great video on food prep! Question how do you know which vegetables need to be blanched before freezing? I know back in California I grew some amazing broccoli had some fresh, steamed some, then froze the rest. But we didn't blanche them, later when we tried to cook up the frozen ones they tasted terrible. I asked my mom why, and she said that the broccoli needed to be blanched first. Now my garden is so small and has been for the past several years, that I always eat everything fresh, haha, and have never experimented with freezing veggies. I freeze fruit all the time from the store for my smoothies, which of course don't need to be blanched.

All of these seem to work well with just freezing them. The only thing that might be suspect in my opinion would be the green beans, but they are chopped small and mixed in, so we might never notice.

Cool! Well if they work they work! haha :) Awesome you have such a great harvest! It's like growing money on plants and trees!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77