The winner of my first-ever poorly administered blog contest

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

Ok, first off I need to apologize for administering the contest so poorly. It was the first time I had ever tried to do it and there were several things I did wrong.

steemit-logo-800x381.png

  1. I hadn't factored in the fact that my SP would run out very quickly after 100% upvoting 40 articles. I will limit the amount of submissions for the next one to prevent this was happening. I had expected 10-20 submissions. Anyone who followed the thread can attest to the fact that there were considerably more articles than this. I'm not concerned about the SP drain. My main concern was that I was unable to deliver on the financial rewards as much as I would have liked. The next contest will be limited to the first 20 people to get in.

  2. I hadn't thought about the fact that there was a good chance that the winner's blog post will be past the 7-day threshold and therefore my resteem would be meaningless in a financial way. This is a massive oversight / stupid mistake on my part and my sincere apologies. I am not sure how to rectify this situation to be honest.

So, that being said: I will need to rethink the next one of these and hopefully the adjustments that I make will make the contests in the future a little more fluid. This is a work in progress and thanks to all of you guys for bearing with me.

Ok, so after reading all of the articles and videos I have determined a winner. I hope that if you didn't win that you will still be my pals :P


The winner of the 1st ever, disorganized, poorly-executed GoodDream minnow-boost blog contest is.....

@camera-sly

For their blogpost https://steemit.com/photography/@camera-sly/perdana-botanical-garden-kuala-lumpur

I really enjoyed the high-quality photographs, the detailed information that makes it very helpful and easy to visit this place if we so choose, and the fact that none of it was plagiarized (I checked.)

Now I will upvote all of your posts until we reach some reasonable amount of money like $20 or something like that. Congratulations buddy, and I hope that you will continue to produce more high-quality content like the above blog post.

If anyone out there has any suggestions about how to modify the rules for the next DPEGDMB contest, i am open to suggestions. Thanks for all that submitted and the next one will be better I hope.

image.jpeg

Sort:  

You don't need to apologise for that poor administration. It was just the first one and pretty good considerably. Congrats to tell winner. Looking for ward to more of your contests soon @gooddream. Keep up the good work.

Congrats to camera for winning the contest. @gooddream I hope next time there would be prices for runnerups. Good initiative by the way. Kudos.

yes, that is also a good idea - I will do that. I think i will simply hand out some STEEM or SBD instead of doing this stingy transfer of SP over time :)

Yeah... Most contest hand out the STEEM or SBD straight to the winner's account after the announcements are in.

Its fine @gooddream, all you wanted to do was to help and there's nothing wrong with that. Its just the first time and as one of our mentors said (@surpassinggoogle) flaws are allowed. :) There can always be room for improvements and we shall support you. :) Have a nice day!

I'm still your pal! For newbies like me its enough if someone helps us in any small way by up voting or being so helpful in the comments which you were and I'm sure the contests will upgrade too along the way.

Awesome.
Fun stuff all around regardless of any oversight stuff mentioned.
Thanks and good to you!

@gooddream No matter you have started the competition very well, you have never been wrong, in fact, when you hear the name of the competition in today's day, feel like a good feeling, let's see what the competition is.

Hiii... Gooddream

You are great person who say sorry for your mistakes. I learned very much from your blogs and also from you.

Congratulations Camera, and it was really jice 9f you @gooddream for organizing this competition i look forward to more

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Oh, I didn't know :( There's something I want to promote. And yes,I guess the payout time is a problem many contests and participants are facing. Some are just paying steem/sbd (reward from your contest post divided by winners for example or a fix reward) for winning the contest or upvote a new post instead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50