Gucci Gang is garbage - how is this popular?

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

A friend of mine sent me a message telling me that I gotta check out "Gucci Gang" because that s**t is FIRE! I complied.

After listening to the song I seriously believed that my friend was pulling my leg and having a laugh at my expense. I thought a lot less of his musical taste once it was discovered that he was being serious.

27-lil-pump.w700.h700.jpg

This otherwise unemployable fella is called Lil Pump and while I think that mumble rap (that's what this is, right?) is a scourge on the music scene and specifically on rap, I gotta hand it to him. He actually got 790 million views on youtube. The lyrics are extremely repetitive and notat all inventive. There is no talent exhibited in his bars and the only thing I can say good about it is that bassy backing sample is pretty tight.

It is my understanding that mumble rap is pretty popular and guys, i gotta say that I fear for humanity if this is the case. Even other rappers, specifically and recently Eminem are calling out these guys but they never respond because they can't really. I don't think they should try because it becomes evident quite quickly that the Em and Snoop and 50 are correct. The diss tracks that Eminem has recently made towards mumble rap are hilarious and exhibit what a rapper with actual talent does on a track.

I'll give you a hint, it doesn't involve saying Gucci Gang over and over and over and over and over.

This isn't the Gucci Gang video but rather a creative spoof of it that is probably only funny if you are familiar with the real song.


*well done Bart Baker *

What do you think? I feel mumble rap is indefensible but I guess I am missing something here because these tracks are routinely at the top of the charts. I guess I just don't get it!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35