You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stony Creek Poppy Jasper

in #geology6 years ago

Wow what a nice rock! Awesome find and I know
the area :-)) Ever go around to the back side there
to the south then west across a little bridge and
down a washboard dusty road for a few miles? lol
Some good spots at the end of that road there
is a little creek, nice area to spend the day.

Sort:  

That's actually one of my favourite spots to go. I wish I could search the private side of that creek. I found this at the campground, but down in the lake. Maybe I'll run into you one day down there. Almost every time I go to that spot I see a little red subaru, be random if that was you. Lol I drive an old Silverado...

Oh oh little red subaru getting all the good ones? lol
Wish I was still down there, but we are in Alaska
now. All the agates and other stones in my last
pictures of rocks was from the beaches up here.
Will be posting some more soon on the others
I've found in California, I know of some cool spots
from long ago. Ever go to the back side of a big
rock of pillow lava along hwy 101 south of Ukiah?
We did see the lakes there about empty of water
four years or so ago.
Did ya see a big silver van around 2013-2015? lol

Never been to the backside of the rock. Just hunted the Russian River on the front side of it. Some great green chalcedony that looks like jade near there. Love the rock shop right there, stopped there a million times since I was a kid. I grew up in Santa Rosa so I spent a lot of time on the River around that area.

Mountain house road out of Hopland,
it heads south west to hwy 128, nice drive.
About half way along the road is some pullouts.
Years ago it was a good place to hunt rocks
that had a lot of crystals coating them.
I got a few green stones need names, one from
that area behind Squaw Rock, I think they
renamed that rock recently.
It is light green with a layer of white
sandwiched in between, like a rock cookie, its
not schist or serpentine.
Another is a chunk of what looks like jade out
of Sulphur creek.
Spent many hours looking for agates at goat rock
beach, south side is the best :-))
Rock on lol

Russian Gulch, just north of Jenner is a good spot too. I love Goat Rock. We used to have keg parties every full moon out there in high school. They put that gate in to keep everyone out at night. Lol the south side was always the best... Up by squaw rock I would fine this green Actinolite. When you break it, it has these fiberous crystals. I'll try to get pictures of some of it. Neat stuff

Goat rock was our fav forsure, tho I don't totally
remember a gate, how rude lol
Never made it down around Russian gulch.
Some them green fibers could be asbestous?
Oh and I really loved that little rock shop there on
101, stopped in many times and got some tectites!
I bet we crossed paths somewhere over the years
looking for rocks lol

Don't remember the van lol...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26