Another really cool micro-crystal

in #geology6 years ago

While I was going through another flat of rocks I purchased, I discovered yet another unique and interest mineral.
20180910_131100 (3).jpg
Unfortunately the camera doesn't do it justice. It actually looks fuzzy and green. But when I put it under the stereo-scope; WOW
20180910_140223_HDR (2).jpg

It's called Botroidal Millerite. I only wish I had a way to show the 3d effect I see when I'm looking through both lenses. It looks like needles of pyrite.
20180910_140344_HDR (2).jpg

The term botroidal refers to minerals that have a nodular or bumpy look to it.
20180910_140424_HDR (2).jpg

looking atthe first picture; one can notice a small white dot. It is a small calcite crystal cluster.
20180910_140506_HDR (2).jpg
This one is definitely going home with me.

Sort:  

Congratulations!
Super!

Congratulations @roswellrockman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I've never thought that rocks could look so cute and furry

Like I said in the post, the pics don't do it justice. I've got an okenite geode that has little white fuzz balls in it. I have to keep it up high to keep people from touching it and breaking the crystals.

Neat! Reminds me of the black velvet psilomelane

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97