Augrabies: Moon rock

in #geology7 years ago

The aptly named moon rock is a large dome of granite standing out above the local surrounds.

For an indicator of size those are people standing on the top.

DSCN1469.JPG

Its one of many flat or domed granite surfaces in the area, but is the one with the most elevation.

DSCN1468.JPG

From the opposite side it has a more gradual slope and assent is more easily accomplished.

DSCN1387.JPG

It was only mid-morning but the heat coming off was already blistering...

DSCN1388.JPG

The surface is rather smooth in places due to a constant flaking from expansion due to the heat.

DSCN1390.JPG

Almost there... and we find small pockets of vegetation, in hollows, where windblown soil has accumulated and the occasional group of desert plants eek out a miserly existence in the blistering heat.

DSCN1391.JPG

Finally the top...

... and its really quite large with a decent elevation from which to survey the surrounds.

DSCN1408.JPG

Not only does moon rock's shape remind one of the moon, but standing on top of it, its so barren one gets the impression of being on a lunar surface.

Other posts in this series

Augrabies - The hidden river
Augrabies - The Falls and Floods
Augrabies: a "heart of stone" for valentines day.
Augrabies: Reading the geological history written on the walls
Augrabies: Lizards everywhere
Augrabies: Further examples of weathering and erosion types

Sort:  

Super cool rock! Thanks for sharing with us all. Hey, have you ever had the occasion of measuring its electromagnetic print, if any? I'd be very curious and was also wondering if you have any shots taken directly from up above its centre, from different heights?

Thanks for the information. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Do you care to elaborate? I'll see what I can dig up...

Amazing landscape!

and that's just one bit of it.

Yes, I believe that is just one bit of it. But, it is amazing.

you are doing a very good job and i like it. keep it up

Glad you like it

Wow what a landscape. Because I would like to take pictures

I will be posting other elements of this landscape as well.

Because I'm curious about it

Perfect, lol the trail, should have voted early :D great place, are you open for hosting and touring :)

Its in a national park, just one of the many sites in Augrabies falls national park.

That's a cool place to take some great photos!

...not cool... HOOOOT it was 45 degrees that day, but I know what you mean!!!

I also wanted to ask you if it was hot! Now, I know. Thanks!

I love this landscape. I would like to do something like this. A real adventure.
Good work @ gavvet.upvote.
You are welcome to visit my post.Best Regards

Since a child, desert landscapes have always appealed to me... so many rocks and so exotic.

I can understand that well ... it's a fascinating world. I have already collected as child stones .. especially drusen ... crystal stones.

so fabulous

not something you see everyday, that's for sure.

Very interesting post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41