SEC-S19 / W4 | Mise en place, Types of Roux and Mother Sauces.

AddText_08-01-05.41.33.jpgImage designed using canva app

What an awesome week with a difference! This week's class got me laughing as I was performing my practical. I enjoyed it though, just wait till I unfold what I've done this week...

Hello Teachers,

I present my homework below. I just hope I did well. Thank you for the lecture, I enjoyed it so much and it was so yummy!

Do you do mise en place before cooking? Show us how you organize everything before cooking


This is the first step in my cooking process because I love an arranged kitchen before cooking. It makes cooking fast and easy. Once I have everything in place, I commence my cooking.

IMG_20231123_115442_666.jpgIMG_20231215_180726_119.jpg

This is always my pattern of cooking because it helps me take a good measurement of the items I need. Well, I never knew the name was mise en place, I only call a good cooking arrangement. I am glad I learned the name.



We would like you to make a type of roux and set aside for the next task. (show ingredients and process)


Blonde roux: cook the butter/flour mixture for 4-5 minutes. Stir the mixture in the pan over the heat until it turns golden. It is used in light sauces, such as velouté.

I share the preparations of the blonde roux

IMG_20240731_123625_961.jpgMelted butter on low heat
Added flour to the butterIMG_20240731_123843_794.jpg
IMG_20240731_130503_095.jpgStir until a blonde roux is achieved

• I melted the butter

• I added the flour to the butter

• I mix and cook for 4 to 5 minutes



We would like you to use the roux made in the preparation of a mother sauce or derivative. (show ingredients and process)


Velvety: Light vegetable or chicken or fish or meat stock, light roux, salt, pepper and/or nutmeg.

IMG_20240731_130613_828.jpgPlace the roux in a pot and add the chicken stock to cook
Melted and still in the cooking processIMG_20240731_131019_132.jpg
IMG_20240731_131101_092.jpgAdded pepper to my sauce and stir. I guess it changed the color
Adding salt to my sauceIMG_20240731_131246_927.jpg
IMG_20240731_131454_733.jpgThis is my final result


We want to see what use you give to the sauce you make


I didn't waste my sauce because it was too sweet to waste. I made good use of it. So I cooked potatoes and ate it with my sauce and I tell you, it was so yummy! My friend even joined me to have a taste of my meal and she was wowed!

IMG_20240731_135330_258.jpgMy delicious sauce


Did you like the result of the sauce? Were there any difficulties in the process?


I love the result of the sauce,I enjoyed it so much, although I encountered difficulties in preparing my roux. I got confused when Ithe butter was cooking and it was time to add the flour.

I didn't know if I had to add the flour immediately I added the butter or allow the butter to cook for a while before adding my flour since I was working with time.

But it was fun, I enjoyed it and I'm glad I did it.


20231026_101606.jpg

I invite @ruthjoe @manuelhooks @chant
Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

TEAM 7

Congratulations, your post has been successfully curated by Team 7 via @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲

We encourage you to publish creative, educational and innovative content so that you have a chance to get valuable upvotes. Be the best to be nominated at the 7 best posts at the end of the week.


1.gif

Thank you so much Sir

Excelente amiga 👍

Me gustó todo lo que hiciste.

Unas papas con la salsa bechamel, de seguro quedó todo muy rico.

Un gusto leerte 👩‍🍳.
Éxitos

Hola amiga, es un gusto saludarte y visitar tu publicación. Tal como dices, tener todo en orden y a la manos nos ayuda a cocinar de forma más rápida, también, es bueno conocer que ese proceso se llama mise en place, es un término que también desconocía.

Opté por preparar la misma salsa que tú y también quedé encantada con los resultados, su sabor y textura es delicioso, la combinación con las papas que ve bastante apetitoso, me alegra que lo hayas disfrutado junto a tu amiga.


Éxitos en el desafío. Saludos y bendiciones.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61555.74
ETH 2980.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51