Gardening Report August 2019

in #gardenjournal20195 years ago

Thanks to @simplymike, I'm here with another gardening report, probably the last one with fruits and veggies as the season is ending slowly and the goodies given by mother nature are less and less.

It's time to post my entry to SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge - August, hosted by @simplymike.

7vqaomj3vi.jpg

Honey dew, who likes honey dew? I love it. We had some a few years ago and this year we thought since there was extra space, why not have some again. This type is very delicious, it's sweet and juicy, just perfect for breakfast.

43nc90ylmk.jpg

Let's continue with sweet corn, which is my yummy food during summer, I can hardly wait to get them. It's childhood memory, we were always happy to eat sweet corn as it's very delicious. Now we have some in the garden, the good type, not that sweet one that can't be eaten because it's too sweet. I am having a few each week till there's still young.

This year thank God the sweet corn turned out quite ok, I can't complain.

t21ougz3hn.jpg

These are sweet grapes called "Zala gyöngye", the first to ripe and for consumption and for wine as well but this year we're not going to make wine, or not of this at least. The vine went through a renewing process, many old branches were cut and new branches are just growing, so this type of grape is not a huge quantity. I'm ok with this as it needs to be done from time to time in order to have a decent crop.

u4zb4io7sv.jpg

Tomatoes, or I believe tomato jungle is a better word to describe what you see here. There are 5 or 6 types this year and these are smaller, and harder type, perfect for sauce. Thank God we had plenty this year, made a bunch of tomato juice and sauce as well.

8o993gi136.jpg

One thing I've learned since we're doing gardening, you have to make the most of it, always can all you have as you never know what's going to happen next year. You can have a better crop but can also happen to have nothing at all.

riye11tv3a.jpg

Eggplants are also a must, there's no year without eggplants. These are grilled and frozen for winter to have them with mayo. It's the best vegetable cream ever.

pjeht729rf.jpg

Finally a flower that is growing at the entrance. I forgot how it's called but it's very nice at this time of the year.

This is it for this edition and I hope to show you some new things I'm planning next time.

steemit-border

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

steemit-border

Vote for @good-karma witness

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Once again, beautiful garden pics, @erikah.
Everything looks sooooo delicious :0)

Thank you very much!

Wow! This is amazing @erikah! You have a beautiful garden with amazing crops growing!!! 😍 It's simply beautiful.

Thank you for the nice words dear @gingbabida :)

You're most welcome my dear. 😊 I envy those honey dews! 😍

I wish I could send some

Aw, you are so sweet! 💕💕

Honey dew, I would like to have some :)
Maybe I will try to grow them next year, we will see.

Good luck!

I’m not quite sure I’ve had honey dew I’m drawing a blank on what it tastes like.

I hope you get a few extra days than you are expecting out of your growing season. Down here we are heading into our second season a lot of things can be planted again. I don’t have many plans to add anything else I have a rather simple and small garden for now.

Well, the weather was very hot so far, I don't know what autumn can bring but let's hope it will be a warm one. Good luck to you!

Hi @erikah!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.468 which ranks you at #2219 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 147 contributions, your post is ranked at #39.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94