My Community Garden Journal for Challenge 9

in #gardenjournal20196 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: My Community Garden Journal for Challenge 9


Purple Yellow-Centred Daisies? or Aster? hmmm...

This is my first time joining the Community Garden Journal Challenge held by @simplymike and I'm really glad that I discovered the announcement post and was able to enter the first challenge for 2019.

Seems like a great start to the gardening year. Thank you @simplymike for running the challenge.

There is also a big Thank You going out to one of my readers who first mentioned the garden challenge to me in a comment, I will try my best to find that comment and hopefully I can also muster up a little something to say 'thank you' (and to encourage engagement amongst others).

Please click on images to view full screen


DSC_1197_steem.jpg

She's been struggling through the recent heat, but bloomed she has


This is one of the plants that I planted in springtime. It was a gift from my daughter and since she had bought it at a market stall, we didn't know what species the plant was, other than a 'purple yellow-centred daisy', as was written on (the paddle-pop stick that was) the label.

Despite struggling through our recent bout of hot weather, she has finally bloomed and given me a first peek at her flowers. I still haven't been able to identify the exact variety, however, I do believe that possibly, it's a type of Aster rather than a daisy but I'll have to do more digging (pun intended) to find out for sure.

Much to an amateur photographer's delight and to 'complete' the photo shoot, a little visitor stopped by and allowed me to take a few shots. (tbh, it could just as easily have been a butterfly but I'll take what I can get..).

Anyhoo, I also managed to take some macro shots of the busy critter that turned out so well that I've decided they deserve their very own post, hopefully, to follow either, shortly or tomorrow... (you know how it is)


DSC_1204_steem.jpg

A busy lil' critter


DSC_1198_steem.jpg

DSC_1200_steem.jpg

These photos show the garden bed and some foliage

Line

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I do appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!

Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.


Imgur

Line

To make your own steemitboard footer, check out this post by @arcange

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

You got some beautiful photos there.
That looks like the what we call the Fleabane Daisy (Erigeron speciosus) in the Asteraceae Family.
It grows wild in our part of the country - Saskatchewan, Canada.
Here's a photo of one that was growing by our lane.
close up of fleabane.JPG

Do you have link for original challenge

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @neddykelly,

Here's a link to the original challenge but I'll also leave you a link to the latest post announcing this round.

Are you thinking of joining the challenge? The more the merrier, I say...

Glad you found the announcement post, and thanks for joining. I could use some nice garden pics. It's mid-winter here and except for watering the plants I'm overwintering inside, there is literally nothing to see or do.
The only thing thzt grows in my garden isthe garlic I planted a couple of months ago...pretty boring.

So, thanks for adding some color to my life. And not just some color... purple is my favorite :0)

I'm always jealous when people can take shots of insects or butterfleson their plants. I've tried like a thousand times but I don't have a single good shot. How do you get them to stay where they are until you've taken the picture?When I try, it looks like they know what I want to do and they start bumping or flying around.... lol, maybe they just don't like me ;0)

Haha yes, you have to be pretty quick, that's for sure. I've only recently been able to get some good shot by learning how to use my camera setting for the right circumstances, lots of my close-ups were a bit blurry. However now that I am remembering to use the macro setting, they have turned out alot better. Birds are my problem, I can never get close enough before I scare them away.

Thanks again, for running the Community Garden Journal Challenge and I'm so glad to hear that purple is a favourite, I'll remember that for future posts ;)

And rest assured that I am more than happy to provide some extra colour to help you get through your winter... although you've got a step up on me with the garlic as I've not yet planted mine.

Hi, @alphaccino.art!

You just got a 0.03% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82