SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge 7 My Garden

in #gardenjournal20186 years ago (edited)

Hello all I have been following a lot of these garden post and they all put mine to same but @simplymike has inspired me to share with you what I did this past weekend. So I live in Huntington Beach California but not near the beach I am right on the border to the next city. So I get a lot of sun in front of my house in the past we have tried to fill our three flower boxes with nice little flowers and one big piece in the middle. But well they die. It could be we don’t water enough or it could just be the amount of sun that hit them. I am not sure so this weekend we tried something new. If you want to enter the contest make sure to check out the Contest Post

First we move what was left alive to our little cut out garden in the front. This like our little back up garden spot to put stuff that lived longer than the rest as you can see there are a few small flowers. A red palm we have had for a few years and that dry looking grass was a plant we will see if it makes it.

image

So this time we went with Succulents to try out in the flower boxes. First we had to fill them up with a lot of new soil so they could be on top.

image

Then we started to plant them in the boxes. We put one big plant in the middle of each and then 4 smaller plants. It took a little while but then we got to here.

image

Also here is a few closer looks at the plants.

image

image

I like these smaller ones the best.

image

image

Well you got a little idea of my patio now. I hope we can keep these alive. I know it isn’t really a garden but I am going to wait till after the winter to try my hand again at plants that grow food. Last time only the tomatoes grew. I will share that when I do it and try to take a few more pictures of the work.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Well done, everything is looking great - happy gardening.

Thank you for checking it out.

Thanks for your update, @stever82. That looks really cool.
When you said you had planted some plants that were hard to kill, I didn't imagine it would be succulents.
For some reason, I can't keep them alive, lol

Those last two pictures are rally awesome!

Thanks from what we have been told if we take care of these for a lone time they are suppose to live without as much water. Also be able to take the sun but could be wrong thanks for checking it out and doing this fun contest.

That's exactly my problem with succulents. Two weeks ago, I got some small cuttings from a friend's plants. I always feel the need to water them, while they don't need it, lol. I feel compassion when I see how dry their soil is. So far, I have been able to resist the urge of watering them, but I'm very curious to see how long I can keep them.alive

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks neat and I love the pot infront off the Windows and i can imagine its Nice to work on these you dont have to sit down. You clearly have green fingers, I can learn a few things !
GREETZ Britt

Ya it is nice to have them higher like that. You can work on them standing and my little ones can't get to the plants as easy to pick at them. I am still pretty new when it comes to gardening though.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 12.70% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Hi @stever82!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.331 which ranks you at #18891 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 467 places in the last three days (old rank 19358).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 229 contributions, your post is ranked at #134.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

"A beautiful garden infront of house".. what can i say.. My point of view is exterior or interior any type of garden defines the owner's choice and mentality.. love it totally.

Looking good! I remember that my mother had quite a few of these sorts of plants as well! I like the planters, it's a good idea, maybe something that I should try for one of our walls.

I simply love those last pics

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44