Balcony Garden October 2018

in #gardenjournal20186 years ago (edited)

October garden update! Welcome back to the apartment homestead in the sky. Thanks to @simpkymike for the garden journal contest (https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2018/@simplymike/steemit-community-garden-journal-challenge-6-october-2018-join-or-resteem-and-win)!

IMG_20181021_160657.jpg

The tomatoes are indoors, and full of blooms. I've been trying to hand pollenate; we'll see how successful I've been!

IMG_20181021_160811.jpg

They are as tall as my chest now. They are taller than my two year old elm tree!

IMG_20181021_160949.jpg

Ellie's leaves are turning. She is still mostly green, though, and doing well in her bigger pot.

IMG_20181021_160958.jpg

Apple is still a wee bairn and green. I've been covering her when the temp is very low, but it's been warm the past few days.

IMG_20181021_161019.jpg

I've been working in a big pile of shredded paper into the compost. It's shredded forms from a retirement account I used up paying rent and closed years ago. They are now actually feeding my future! LOL. This is how you get browns in apartment compost.

IMG_20181021_160854.jpg

Marigold is blooming up a storm inside on a windowsill!

That's it from the balcony/indoor garden. I hope your plant friends are doing well! Yuan's grass has moved indoors as well, but I forgot to take a photo. Be good, Steemit! 💜

Sort:  

Nice update, @phoenixwren. Glad to see everything is doing so good.
Thanks for the tips about the shredded paper. I don't know why I never thought of that....

I've shredded newspaper as well, and cut up with scissors into tiny bits some plain cardboard box. The first batch (newspaper) broke down right away, and the cardboard didn't take much longer. I think this batch is taking longer because of the cold weather. But it has decreased in volume, so it's on its way!

Great looking plants Phe! Nice marigold blossoms. What sweet and long lived flowers they are. Great idea doe mulch too! Is it tricky to keep your cats out of your plants? #growingislife

As long as I grow cat grass for Yuan to munch on, he leaves the other plants alone. Maggie doesn't want to eat any plants. She even leaves the green peas in their wet food behind like a kid who won't eat their vegetables. 😂

I'll always be so proud of you and your #homesteadinthesky.

So many make excuses. "I can't grow, I live __________".

Thank you Phe.

You are an Example.

Screen Shot 2018-10-22 at 10.25.33 AM.png

Aww, thank you so much. 😊

Damnit I upvoted that too fast hahaha, oh well, I burned 3 cents :) In the name of Love!

Once more in the name of love! 😂

Wonderful to see and I like the use of the retirement account to grow you food brilliant. My garden has dropped in productivity unfortunately its getting cold here and the frost has hit things hard. Moving it indoors dreckly 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45