When you run out of room in the garden.... Build a bed!

in #gardening5 years ago

IMG_20190827_092146.jpg

For the first time in forever, we had a Bank holiday and the sun came out. Usually, these days off work, come with awful weather and are spent stuck indoors.

If you've been reading some of my previous posts, you'll have noticed that I love my garden and more specifically my little vegetable patch.

My dreams of becoming self sufficient and being able to produce a year-round food source for my little family has quickly outgrown my small patch at the bottom of the garden.

So how do I rectify this:

IMG_20190825_142930.jpg

Well first of all, I get 1/2pint and the dog to find the perfect spot in the "secret garden" to build the new planter.

IMG_20190827_095757.jpg

The "secret garden" is just the bit of the garden that I fenced off to stop 1/2pint and the dog getting down to the river and woodland. Basically becoming a dumping ground for all my tools and junk. I did put steps down to the river and some times we (me and the boy) just love to spend hours throwing stones in the river.

IMG_20190825_144013.jpg

IMG_20190825_165422.jpg

Being an ex-carpenter, I quickly assembled the hardwood frame. I've reused some decking boards I had left over from a job I did, I NEVER chuck anything out.....

(ohh yeah, and spiderman made an appearance)

IMG_20190826_182637.jpg

I levelled it and squared it off to the block shed (I built). The planter may only be 12" high, but it's always best to get things level at the beginning.

  • TOP TIP - When building a raised bed/planter put down some cardboard. It's porous, to allow drainage, but acts as a great method of suppressing weed growth.

IMG_20190826_184140.jpg

Once you've got your cardboard-weed-barrier down, it's important to add some nutrients to help kick start and maintain a healthy soil.

  • TOP TIP - If like me you know you're going to be building a raised bed/planter keep old grass cuttings.

Ive been collecting for several weeks and I've had mine in sealed plastic bags. They've already started to compost down.

IMG_20190826_184302.jpg

Ive added the grass cuttings from yesterday, this just makes it look nicer (more green).

Now although I didn't take a picture of the next bit, you can also chuck on old food waste, the worms will love it. So there now

  • old tea bags
  • fruit peelings (bananas)
  • egg shells
  • shredded cereal boxes

Ive also added a few leaves I saved from last autumn. Brown compost materials(leaves/twigs) are needed to balance out the greens(plants/grass), just remember the smaller the pieces the faster they compost.

The more organic materials you can add at this stage, the less expense you'll need to outlay for compost/top soil to fill it. I'll go out after work tonight to see if I can find any "end of summer" bargains and pick up a few bags of multipurpose compost.

IMG_20190827_105133.jpg

Winter is coming..... So it's time to get your next set of vegetables in - Garlic, onions, some carrots and winter salads.

Hoping to get these in this weekend coming. Stay tuned to see how I get on!

download.png

Sort:  

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Hahaha, that's what I've been doing all along.
And how I learned how to build.

I started with one square foot garden bed 5 years ago... didn't stop building. Backyard garden is quite full, so I started in the front yard garden :0)

It's addictive, lol

Well, Mrs W is already cross with me because that's where she had planned to put the hot tube, and by "she planned to", I mean she wanted me to....

I will definitely be getting another raised bed next to it but definitely not as long. That bed is 1mX3.5m and will take 4 rows of (insert random vegetable here).

This post has been selected for today's Best of British - five posts of the day from UK Steemians.

Thank you @steemclub-uk appreciate all you do for us brits here on steemit.

You are on fire mate. Another job well done.

Cheers buggs. Just got to fill it and get planting now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54