LOOK!!! LOOK!!! Look what we've grown...

in #gardening5 years ago

IMG_20190715_101840.jpg

It's getting to that time of year when my feed gets taken over by the things I've grown in my garden. So I do apologise if you're not a big fan of gardening, family time and my life 😂

As always, my trusted partner in crime "1/2pint" was there to lend a helping hand, even if he did end up spending more time digging in the dirt than helping.

IMG_20190714_145053.jpg

OK, let's start at the beginning..... For ease and more importantly space, I grow my potatoes in grow bags. They are cheap enough to buy, small enough to move around (once full), yet large enough to harvest a decent size crop per bag.

IMG_20190715_102519.jpg

Now I don't know if this little trick works, or if I've just been doing it for no reason, but once the potatoes have flowered and I know the potatoes are growing, I cut back the large foliage. I'm sure I heard an old wives-tale about this forcing the plant in to producing larger spuds.... True/false??? If you know please share!

So my little semi-naked helper was there ready to lend a hand and we got straight in.

IMG_20190714_144005.jpg

Since the majority of the foliage was already cut back, it was easy enough to start at the top and work our way through the soil.

By loosening up the soil, its easy enough to pull the roots straight up and harvest any spuds still atta he'd to the main plant.

The grow bags have a nice feature, where you can open a side pocket and get direct access to the potatoes in situe.

IMG_20190714_144803.jpg

Another great thing about getting 1/2pint to help is that he has no fear of things with more than 2 legs. I'm fact it's a hard job trying to stop him hurting the poor creatures because all he wants to do is pick them up and show them to his mother (who's not a big fan of creepy crawleys).

Plus it's always nice to see them in your soil -

HEALTHY BUGS = HEALTHY SOIL

So if you see lots of them, you know your soil is in good condition.

IMG_20190714_145933.jpg

That's not a bad crop, but it's not great either. This bag contained only 2 "seed" potatoes, so it's not a bad return. Potatoes are thirst little things and I probably didn't water enough these last 2 weeks to really get the amount of tubors I would have liked. I saw a lot of little spuds (less than 10mm), which tells me I either pulled too soon or didn't water enough.

So I'll give the next sack an extra week and make sure I keep them topped with water up daily.

IMG_20190714_152237.jpg

These are my own seed potatoes, kept from store bought spuds.

Now this sack is empty and ready to go again, I'll increase the seeds from 2 to 5 and hopefully get a better crop at the end of the summer.

IMG_20190714_152520.jpg

Time to cover these, water them and hope they grow!!

I hope that didn't bore you too much?? I'm guessing if you made it this far, you found it an OK read.

I'm always happy to share are hints/tips, so if you want to know anything please ASK. If you've got any tips please feel free to let me know below. I'm always happy to take new things on board.

4i88GgaV8qiFU89taP2MgKXzwntUGAvkoQiKU7VxyD37q91c5jNxF9rntrC8fjLxDFDgbN5Sj3UCs3owHairNvTCfoxoiL1o1RoZWEgDK6c1CZfP19LdZZ5Ewx.png
download.png

Sort:  

What is Funny about this Whole Thing is While I was Reading your Post I was Eating French Fries (Organic) with Ketchup (Organic) and Playing Steemmonsters to complete my DQ (Daily Quest for Noobs).......Great Job on Showing Your Son that it is OK to Play in the Dirt and Grow Your Own Food........

Thanks SJ. Glad you cleared up what DQs were.... Lol these noobs need to learn the lingo.

Tomorrow we will mostly be digging up carrots.

Love gardening! So rebellious to grow your own food 😊 I hadnt heard about cutting back the folage, but it would cause them to stress which should make them produce bigger pots because the think they are dying so they want to survive by making more or bigger pots.. I only now this from weed plants and how stressing can make bigger fruits..

The firsttime i ever grew potatoes, I told my friend that they kept dying, and he said "mate, that means they are ready to harvest" 😂

That's what I heard (cutting foliage). The plant wants to make sure it's seeds are ready before it dies, so doubles down on making them bigger. Glad I'm not the only one that heard that rumor

Thank you welshstacker! You've just received an upvote of 58% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you welshstacker! You've just received an upvote of 68% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Congratulations @welshstacker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I have never grown potatoes but am hoping to next year. I love gardening. Just wondering how long does it take to grow a crop of potatoes. I am kinda excited to try the bag.

It doesn't take very long, just a couple of weeks if you have a lot of sunshine and keep watering them.

Way to go champ, my only question is... was your son the only one with no pants?

I can't divulge such information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40