You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Picking the Right Vegetables to Grow

in #gardening5 years ago

Seemingly ive been having a "gardners block". It all seems somewhat overwhelming as im a newbie besides a few things ive grown like tomatoes & peppers. Id like to create a system that could feed my family year round. Ive also looked into food forest and one of my best friends from childhood does/ teaches horticulture. Im clueless on it all. I have plenty of property tho and would like to make use out of it. Seemingly just getting started is the hard part. Thanks for the read and ill be sure to check those links. 🙏

Sort:  

I understand that feeling. Sometimes there is just too much info and it can be hard to figure out what the first step is.

I would recommend starting small. Make 1 or 2 garden beds say 10 feet long and 4 feet wide. Could go smaller. And then plant them with a small number of vegetables that you already eat and you enjoy. Just get used to growing and harvesting and using those veggies. Get used to the day to day activities.

Once you have that down then add more beds and consider planting a few fruit trees and adding some veggies around them.

Just start with a small action and over time take other small actions. Eventually, all those small actions will result in some big results.

Good luck!

Really great tips! Thank you.

I do have an orange tree, a banana tree, and i finally was able to start a avocado & a coconut. The avocado has been like my child lol. The coconut is not growing so well. Any tips on where to get decent seeds? Im thinking about lettuce, potatoes, carrots, corn squash etc. Also how do i know the quality of the soil i have or does it matter. I live on whats left of an old orange grove.

Hmm... I admit I tend to not worry too much about soil quality but it does have an impact. But since I'm in it for the long haul I just keep growing and keep adding mulch (wood chips, fall leaves, etc.) which makes the soil a little bit better each year. I just released a blog post on mulch you might find useful. I will be making a Steemit post about it tomorrow.

As far as seeds I find Baker Creek to be a good source for vegetable seeds. They have a lot of options and some rare/old varieties.

Good luck!

Really appreciate it thank you 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68539.09
ETH 3904.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62