Favorite Yellow Flowers For Wednesday Yellow Color Challenge

in #gardening7 years ago


I dedicate this post to Lottie and to my paternal grandmother, Carolyn, who passed away 18 years ago today. I was lucky enough to live in the same city in Texas as my grandparents. My grandmother loved flowers a lot and took me to Lottie's greenhouse as a child. Lottie always let me pick out a flower or two to take home and plant. I can still remember the smell of her greenhouse. Another interesting note is Lottie and I shared the same birthday in November with her being probably 50 years older than me.

This week I am posting some of my favorite photos from the last few years.
I hope you enjoy them!


Goldenrod.jpg

Goldenrod grows wild around some creek beds near my house; that's where I photographed these.
It's definitely a favorite of butterflies!
It blooms in the fall.


YellowKolanchoes.jpg


Kalanchoe makes a great potted plant.
Some people keep them inside, but I like to have them on my porch outside!


CopperCanyonUpClose.JPG


Copper Canyon Daisies is another plant that I bought at a native plant sale in 2012 and it is one of my favorites!. It is a perennial and comes back from the roots. It blooms in late October and has blossoms until the first freeze.
Once again it is fantastic for the butterflies and bees and yes until the first freeze I see both!


CowpenDaisies1.jpg


CowpenDaisy2.jpg


The 2 photos above are Cowpen Daisies and butterflies and bees love them!
After planting them in my flower garden 5 years ago, they reseed themselves every year and I don't have to do anything, unless I put some new compost around them.
When they have seed heads in the fall, I shake them around in other flower beds where I want more the next spring. It is so easy!


MiniYellowRose.jpg


This is one of my favorites. It is a mini rose that has the beautiful accent of orange on the edges. I have it in a pot on my back porch. It blooms off and on all summer and late into the fall!


violetmed150.jpg


Have a Blessed Day!


All photos taken by me @violetmed.

Sort:  

pretty flowers

nice
blog.png

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 1.81$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55