A New Grow Space

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9662.JPG

Here's how I made an Ikea wardrobe into a great little grow space! Perfect for growing seedlings in the spring and food or herbs all winter!

First; the wardrobe. A family member was moving and had no more use for her ikea wardrobe, it was offered to me and at first I wasn't interested.

Then it dawned on me!

It would be a perfect space to grow plants! With the thin breathable material, open bottom and zipper door it's actually ideal!

IMG_9677.PNG

This wardrobe was $40

IMG_9678.PNG

It was free for me, so it's certainly a good deal, but there are some at Ikea for $17, not a bad price for an indoor grow house!

IMG_9676.PNG

I rustled up some old grow lights and in no time I had it rigged up perfectly! The lights can be adjusted for height and I can also fit a red lamp above the white when needed.

IMG_9660.JPG

I got a small clip on fan to create good air circulation, which will prevent mould.

IMG_9680.JPG

Additionally, the zipper door should successfully prevent my cats from getting in there and messing up the place.

IMG_9013.JPG

IMG_9649.JPG

I only just started my seeds the other day and usually keep them by my window, where they receive a decent amount of sunlight. Today, however, was quite cloudy and ...🤢... snowy.
So, I decided to give this awesome grow space it's first use!

IMG_9660.JPG

I'm really excited to see what foods/plants we can create with this and I hope you're inspired to grow some of your own plants this year!

IMG_8985.JPG

Keep an eye out for our hobby garden in the coming months! Here's a summary of last years crops;

https://steemit.com/growfoodnotlawns/@theneohippy/growing-food-in-2017

We have a ton of awesome seeds ready to grow this year and are beyond excited!

Take care!
~The NeoHippy

Sort:  

What a great idea.. Can't wait to see how it all went. Thank you🌱

Thank you! I can't wait either! Hopefully it works really well :)

Look great! Keeping the cat out is my biggest issue with plants and seeds lol She won`t let me have anything haha.

Haha I hear ya! Ours somehow got better once we had kids, but yea, they would still step in and eat what they could!

Chloe planted a bean seed at that science day she went to. It sprouted a few days ago and we had it on my desk to get some sunlight. I caught the cat just in time, she had her mouth over it, about to bite the top off lol

Hahaha cats are hilarious!! Klaus once ate a kiwi!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36