Granddaddy Graybeard TreesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)
The lovely Granddaddy Graybeard Tree (Chionanthus virginicus) is native to the southeastern US. I've never heard it called anything else, but in researching a bit about the tree for this article, I saw other common names for it, such as: White Fringetree, Fringe Tree, Old Man's Beard, and Grancy Graybeard Tree.

GranddaddyGraybeard1.png

The photo above shows what the tree looks like from a distance when it is in bloom. That tree is in my neighbor's yard. I have a tree on my property, too, but it isn't so full and pretty as my neighbor's tree.

In late spring, this North American native tree becomes nearly covered with showy, fringe-like flowers that cascade downward like the white beard of a wise old man, inspiring the name Grancy Greybeard. The flowers also add a lovely, potent, sweet perfume fragrance to the air about when the dogwoods are beginning to fade. [4]

GranddaddyGraybeard2.png

The blooms of the tree look like white fringe when they first appear. All of the closeup shots of the flowers are on the tree in my front yard.

GranddaddyGraybeard3.png

As the flowers begin to wither, the snow-white color fades to a pale yellow, as seen in the photo on the left-side, below. The photo at below-right was made at night, when the blooms were still fresh, for more contrast. I posted that photo to my Flickr stream a few years ago, and it now appears in search engines.

GranddaddyGraybeardduo1.png

Finally, here are two photos of another tree, in a different neighbor's yard than the first photo. These trees help make the neighborhood a pretty place after the dogwood trees have stopped blooming!

GranddaddyGraybeardduo2.png

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

SOURCES
   1 Wikipedia: Chionanthus virginicus
   2 WilsonBrothersGardens.com: Grancy Graybeard - White Fringe Tree

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

PowerHouseCreativesbanner.jpg

__pearls.png
07-May-2019

Sort:  

Old mans beard. Sounds like a great memory from childhood. I find those robe a goldmine of little points of reflection that ties me to the wonder of youth.

Trees and freewrites on the blockchain are good for the soul!

Posted using Partiko iOS

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

@pixresteemer ~ THANK YOU for all the resteems of my posts! You are so on-point with doing it, and it is greatly appreciated! 🤗

Is it possible to add someone else to your reblogging routine? @jamerussell could use a little more exposure to his posts, I think. Thanks for considering him! 💙


We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and/or resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

It's beautiful.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

I think I've seen one before...but I'm not even sure if it exists in my country! :P Anyways, a short and cute tree that I would hug if I see one...literally.

Have a nice day :)

Pretty tree @thekittygirl, and I can smell it from here!!!
I like the trees that are blooming when everything else is finished, they really stand out!

Never heard of this beard before looks pretty with green and white. Especially when beard is in full bloom.

Posted using Partiko Android

Old man's beard! How fun! I have never seen or smelled this one, I would love to! Spring brings such beautiful flowering trees, I do miss that. Here in the south east we don't get to see such dramatic changes, I do miss that. Thanks for sharing these beautiful glimpses of springs beauty @thekittygirl :)

Beauty! Also, I found a sassafras tree along the way. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41