Gardening - How to grow ginger plant!

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

If you have not yet discovered this amazing ingredient, then I tell you that you should use it in your diet every day because, ginger has a lot of good benefits for your health.

The benefits of ginger

  • it is an excellent digestive stimulant
  • it prevents bloating and indigestion
  • a cup of ginger tea can revive you even better than a cup of coffee
  • helps you get rid of the flu and colds (it heals the body by inducing perspiration and strengthening the immune system)
  • it fights against cancer (used successfully to treat leukemia, ginger extracts are indicated for the prevention of cancerous tumors, strengthening immunity)
  • it calms nausea
  • is a potent vasodilator (it lowers blood tension and facilitates blood circulation, preventing blood clots)
  • you can use ginger when you have muscle soreness, joint pain or local inflammation( sprains, strains)

The simplest way to include this amazing plant in your daily diet is ginger tea.

Drinking ginger tea is not indicated for people with kidney disease because it can aggravate existing problems.

The benefits source: http://www.elle.ro/health-diet/ce-beneficii-ghimbirul-si-cum-e-bine-sa-l-consumam-393739/

Now I want to show you how to grow it.

Few weeks back I bought ginger to make some tea, but I didn't used it all and after a while I saw that the ginger cornered, so I decided to put it in soil. 

After one month I had a great surprise...

It growed up two plants. Honestly, I must learn more about this plant because I'm not sure if I have to divide it from the ginger or not. I will keep you updaded in the future posts! 

Happy gardening!

Sort:  

I keep meaning to try this, would be so handy to just grow your own ginger.

Yes, I think is great to have your own plants, plus are a great source of oxygen!

I am just waiting for spring then boom! I will be trying this!

Great to hear that buddy! Cheers!

Steemit feels so good. Literally a month ago I searched the google on how to grow my own ginger (because I had a piece that had been sitting on my counter which started to sprout on its own) and couldn't find a good simple explanation and voila... here it is where all good things show up. Thanks @the-future for bringing my failed google searches 180 degrees around to success!

Wow, you made a great search to find out how to do it, that means you really love ginger!Sometimes things are more simple than we think they are.
I will do it again because I have another cornered ginger! I'm glad that you find it helpful! Thank you very much, I really appreciate it.

Well, there is a special place in my heart for irregularly shaped plants:)

Nice to hear that Yasemin! Cheers!

Is it really that easy?

Also... may I suggest a photo-captioning contest for the original piece of ginger? It might end up like an online rorschach test!

Yes, this is the way it grew up.
'Also... may I suggest a photo-captioning contest for the original piece of ginger? It might end up like an online rorschach test!'
I don't really understand what do you mean! Can you be more specific?

Here is an example of a caption contest: http://contest.newyorker.com/CaptionContest.aspx?tab=winner, but what I'm imagining is better compared to asking a child "what do you see when you look at the cloud in the sky?"

Rorschach test background: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rorschach_test . By mentioning this I'm implying that it's interesting to discover what other people see in abstract objects :).

Great post. Thanks again! I'm going to try it next time I have ginger.

Now I get it. That is an interesting contest. You can use the images if you want. I don't really have time to do it and I'm not good on that things. Thank you very much for your time!

you can add a few ginger in a gin tonic drink :) it's so good! thanks for sharing this "how to gardening" ;)

That's an interesting idea. I might try it sometime.
Thank you for stopping by, @pickoum!

Ginger is awesome. I try to use it often.

Yes, is incredible! Nice to hear that! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45