You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vegetable Quiz with Prizes! - The #fruitsandveggies challenge by @barbara-orenya - Identify My Entry!

in #gardening7 years ago

I can't help but think the purple stems are some sort of milkweed shoots, as they look just like the ones I grow for the caterpillars, the 2nd is hops and the flowers look like Creeping Charlie (that's what we call them)

Sort:  

The purple and green plants were the same thing -- hop shoots. So you were half-right. I hope you enjoy eating some hop shoots, they are tasty! So are milkweed shoots, too! And Creeping Charlie, lol. So many tasty plants! (The pink flowers were from the redbud tree.)

Great post my friend, that purple one drove me crazy as I knew it wasn't asparagus, I have never seen hops in person so would never known. lol I used to have a redbud tree and it was my favorite. So beautiful in bloom. Great contest!

Here's my new post about hop shoots, if you are interested. It shows how I harvest and eat them. I've posted one about the redbud flowers, too.

Thanks, @sunscape! It is strange how the first hop shoots look so different from the ones later in the spring. They are an interesting plant! I'm glad you have enjoyed Redbud trees. They are such a pretty landscaping tree, even without eating the flowers. They are so pretty!

Thanks for stopping by, @sunscape! And thanks for entering my mystery vegetable mini-contest! I'll make 2 posts on Sunday with the answers. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57